Guest Star: Pineapple Coconut Breakfast Loaf

guest star

 

You don’t need me to sell you on breakfast right? You know it’s supposed to be the most filling meal of the day right? Exactly. So when I tell you that my blogger friend Riddhi (over at cookbybook) made you a super healthy CAKE for breakfast, you’ll have to make it right away. Because it’s healthy, it’s a breakfast treat and because Riddhi made it so sweetly for us! It’s full of all things good and any word that involves cake is automatically meant to put on a pretty plate and eaten right away.

Riddhi is a dentist by profession and with all the exotic variety over at her blog, you’ll think she’s some kind of cake superhero by night. I really enjoy reading her blog for many reasons but the biggest has to be that it’s egg-free. I, myself try and remain vegetarian once a week and I’m at a loss for meal choices. Riddhi’s blog is super innovative and fun – my favorite recipes so far include homemade funfetti icecream, skinny mac n cheese and so many more. I like that she challenges the norm and bakes (and cooks) up a storm minus egg or meat. Such an inspiration! When I emailed Riddhi asking her to do a little guest appearance, she was just as excited as I was. She also read my mind! I’ve been looking for cool breakfast treats and the fact that this is healthy also helps me stuff my face with both hands, no guilt. Thanks Riddhi, you’re a superstar!

Pineapple Coconut Breakfast Loaf

 

Pineapple-Coconut Breakfast Loaf1

Hey there! My name is Riddhi and I am the writer, recipe developer and photographer at Cook By Book. I got so excited when Roshni asked me to do a guest-post for her lovely blog. This is my first time and I was very apprehensive. I really wanted to come up with an absolutely winner recipe to share with you all.

 

If you are a reader of my blog {If not, stop by to say Hi! :)}, you would know how I adore healthy and skinny recipes. Today I’m going to share one such recipe I specially developed for the readers of Vanilla Bean. Recipe of the day is pineapple and coconut breakfast loaf, made entirely of whole wheat flour. This recipe uses extra-virgin olive oil in a small quantity. No butter involved here. I have used dark brown sugar and if you count the amount of sugar per slice, it is not exorbitant. So definitely healthy! 😉

 Pineapple-Coconut Breakfast Loaf2

This sweet and crunchy pineapple-coconut loaf will leave you wanting another piece. This breakfast loaf is moist because of coconut milk; each bite is filled with juicy pineapple bits and crunchy coconut chips. Lovely with morning coffee and perfect for evening tea as well! The loaf tastes great as-is but you can dress it up with Maple syrup or caramel glaze!

 

This breakfast loaf is ready in a breeze. Just 2 bowls needed, one for dry and another for wet ingredients. Plus no electric mixer is required! The batter comes together quickly in like 5-minutes! Make it in the morning and serve it fresh out of oven or make ahead and freeze it for couple of weeks. Definitely convenient!

 

Enjoy ~ Riddhi

Pineapple-Coconut Breakfast Loaf3 

Pineapple-Coconut Breakfast Loaf

 

Yields: 1 9×4-inch loaf – 6 thick slices | Prep time: 5 minutes | Cook time: approx 25-30 minutes

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated coconut
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon powder
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, lightly packed
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut milk
  • 1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 heaping cup fresh pineapple diced into small cubes (around 5-6 slices)
  • Coconut chips, for topping

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven at 180°C/350°F. Grease the 9×4-inch loaf pan with butter and set aside.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together flour, coconut, salt, baking powder and cinnamon.
  3. In a separate large bowl, whisk together egg and brown sugar till well-combined. Add coconut milk, olive oil and whisk.
  4. Gently fold in dry ingredients in to the wet ingredients. Do not over-mix. Gently fold in pineapple cubes.
  5. Pour the batter in a prepared loaf pan. Sprinkle the top with coconut chips. Bake for 26 to 29 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean or with few moist crumbs. Mine was ready in 28 minutes. Let cool in a pan over a wire rack for 10 minutes before unmolding. The loaf stays fresh stored in an air-tight container for 2 days. It can be frozen up to 2 months.

 

Notes:

«  Coconut chips topping may be replaced with grated coconut.

«  For best results use fresh pineapple.

Baking time may vary in case different dimension loaf pan is used

 

Thank you Riddhi for this amazing idea and effort! I wish we lived in the same city so we could swap cakes all day long. Sigh!

 

2 responses to “Guest Star: Pineapple Coconut Breakfast Loaf

  1. Pingback: Guest Post on The Vanilla Bean: Pineapple~Coconut Breakfast Loaf | Cook By Book·

  2. Pingback: #fbcookieswap : Oatmeal-Apricots White Chocolate Chip Cookies | Cook By Book·

Leave a comment