Skillet (Apology) Chicken with Mushrooms and Rosemary

We need to catch up.

It has been way too long since we broke bread and discussed cake. Since my last post, I’ve lugged embarrassing amounts of spices, ginger tea, some baking equipment, a tiny suitcase of semi-weather-appropriate clothes to London. That’s not all. I’m living the dream because as of last week, I officially started my first term as a basic patisserie student at the Le Cordon Bleu. I know. It’s been a whirlwind of white-as-snow chef whites, (ugly) kitchen clogs and some copious note-taking on pastry cream. London is beautiful, cold but welcoming. So far, so good.

Most cooking in my brand new apartment has been restricted to egg flipping and bagel smearing. In the two weeks before my school started, my bestie and I managed to scour some super restaurants so we haven’t been cooking as creatively as you’d think. The supermarkets hold a strange fascination for me – I’m enamored by the berries, yogurt and cheese. Most days, I catch myself snacking on greek yogurt and raspberries – when I’m not spreading garlic roule on Finncrisps, that is.

FullSizeRender-1 FullSizeRender-2 FullSizeRender-3 FullSizeRender

Anyway, I digress (and maybe brag just a little bit of my new surroundings). This rosemary chicken is everything you want in a weekday winner dinner – flavor, ease and wine. I butterflied the chicken breasts but you can also flatten them with a meat hammer. I used Pinot Grigio because of the slight tart flavor but you can just as easily use chicken broth or leave it out all together. I cooked this in my all-time favorite Le Creuset skillet in the shiny new oven who’s beeping I still must get used to. It took all of 20 minutes to get this chicken from skillet to table so you know you have a real winner on your hands here. You can always substitute the rosemary for basil, thyme or even oregano but to me rosemary, mushrooms and white wine are magic.

Skillet Chicken with Mushrooms and Rosemary

Serves: 2

Adapted from: Damn Delicious

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts, butterflied

2 tbs butter

1 tsp olive oil

4 – 6 large cloves of garlic, minced

4 oz. button mushrooms, washed, dried and cut into slices

3 – 4 sprigs of rosemary (or more if you’d like)

1/2 cup white wine or chicken broth

Salt and pepper, to taste

1. Pre-heat the oven to 250 deg C.

2. In a oven-proof skillet, add butter and olive oil and let it heat on low flame till butter has melted. Add the chicken and cook for 2 minutes per side, seasoning both sides lightly. Remove on to a plate and set aside.

3. In the same skillet, add garlic and saute on low flame till fragrant. Quickly, add rosemary and mushrooms and saute well. Add wine to deglaze the pan once mushrooms are slightly cooked and reduce till half. Then, add chicken back to the skillet. Season well again and bake for 6 – 8 minutes in the oven till mixture is fragrant and chicken is cooked through. Serve hot with an extra garnish of fresh rosemary.

IMG_3753

7 responses to “Skillet (Apology) Chicken with Mushrooms and Rosemary

  1. Pingback: Earl Grey Milk Chocolate Shortbread – The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap | The Vanilla Bean·

Leave a Reply

