Best Ever: Salsa

I’m giving you three reasons why you need to kick off 2014 with some salsa.

#1 It’s HEALTHY.

#2 It’s super quick

#3 Why do you need more than one reason to make salsa?

Salsa is the backbone of any good party. Put a giant bowl of chips and salsa and people will gravitate towards them. I made a giant vat of salsa for pre-NYE dinner and I’m not nearly as embarrassed as I should be to admit I tucked away some for me before serving it. Now, I’ve always been fond of salsa – so much so that I figured if I attempt it at home, it might lose the allure. On a whim, I decided to skip the Guac (used avocados for something so much BETTER – more on that later) and try salsa instead. Image

Using a trusty recipe source, I was initially leaning towards making the full recipe (about SIX cups) because dips in our house last as long as cake (not very long, FYI). Salsa keeps well too. I halved the recipe and I’m glad I did because this makes a ginormous batch – excellent for large gatherings or bottling into clean jars for gifting. If you need the full recipe, see here.

I used tinned tomatoes because they impart a tarter flavor as compared to fresh. I used two tins (400 g each) and had the remaining ingredients on hand and I believe you should too. It’s just that easy.  I also recommend using as much lemon juice as you’re comfortable with – the recipe originally stated juice of half a lime but I added a whole. Try and make this ahead of time  – the flavors get enough time to get comfortable.

Best Ever Salsa

Yields: About 3 cups, serves 8 – 10 as an appetizer

Source: Browneyedbaker

2 tins (400g each) tomatoes

1 small onion

A handful of cilantro

3 – 4 cloves of garlic, peeled and roughly chopped

1 jalapeño, roughly quartered

Salt and pepper, to taste

1 tsp cumin powder

A pinch of sugar

1. In the bowl of a food processor, add all the ingredients and pulse till you get a chunky consistency. Taste and adjust if necessary. Remove into serving bowl and refrigerate till needed.

Image

Leave a Reply

