Eggnog Chocolate Chip Cookies

I read a quote the other day (by-product of spending waaay too much time on Pinterest) that read:

“Writing is something you do alone. It’s a profession for introverts who want to tell you a story but don’t want to make eye contact while doing it.” 

It’s a memorable, all-too-true quote by a recent favorite author, John Green. It resonates every time I make the switch from blogger to baker at bake sale. I had a bake sale last weekend and no matter how many in number, I almost always find it difficult to make the switch. I’m never sure what to say when someone compliments a pie or wolfs down an entire slice of cake before me. With all the nice comments on the blog, I can formulate a response in the privacy of my own mind. I’m working on it though – creating a good balance. Either way, I’m grateful. As the year comes to a close, I’ve been deliberating on what a phenomenal year it has been, blogger-wise and baker-wise. Thank you guys, you make every early morning/late night worth it.

Let’s celebrate with some super festive cookies, shall we?

I made a batch of eggnog cookies for you all. In case you didn’t know, I can’t be left unsupervised with eggnog. Chances are, I’ll have drunk it all before you can say ‘DON’T!’ We all have our weaknesses. So anyway, if I’ve spared some to make you cookies, you know just how much I love you. That’s one delicious yardstick. They have taken over my world by storm. In case you hadn’t noticed, I participated in a cookie swap this month and these cookies were everywhere!

DSC_0185

Eggnog Chocolate Chip Cookies

Yields: 10

Source: Brown Eyed Baker

1 cup + 2 tbs (135 g) flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

6 tbs (78 g) butter, at room temperature

1/2 cup (100 g) + 2 tbs caster sugar

1/4 cup homemade or store-bought eggnog

1 egg yolk

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup dark or bittersweet chocolate chips

1. Pre-heat the oven to 175 deg C. Line a cookie tray with parchment paper or a silicon mat.

2. In a medium sized bowl, beat together the butter and sugar till pale and fluffy. Because it’s such a small amount you can do it with a sturdy wooden spoon like I did. Add the egg yolk, eggnog and vanilla extract and fold it in.

3. Add flour and baking powder along with the chocolate chips and fold it in with a sturdy spatula. Use an ice-cream scoop to drop even mounds on the cookie tray and bake for 8 – 12 minutes till golden brown around the edges and significantly puffy.

Leave a Reply

