Mayday Chocolate Cookies

I have been spending way too much time away from the blog. And way too much time with the tape dispenser and ribbons with snowmen on them. I wish I could say I haven’t posted in a while because I was away on some exotic vacay (like eating my way around Italy) but in reality I was knee deep  in flour. In the last 3 weeks, I’ve used nearly 9 kilos of flour, 100 eggs and 10 kilos of caster sugar. There have been bake sales to be baking for, Christmas boxes to be sent out and Cookie Swap cookies to be swapped. I can’t say I’ve loved every minute of it because while in theory, spending nearly 14 hours doing something you love very, very much is akin to a vacation, it not quite. It’s overwhelming and sometimes a tiny negligence here or there can be quite monumental. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t do this at least ten twice a day. Either way, I powered through with a LOT of help from friends, family, everyone who showed up at these events and some super awesome bloggers who sent me cookies when I was drowning in cookie dough. Every day while prepping for these events, I’d wake up and think ‘I’m not going to be baking for a while after this. FOR SURE.’ 

Oddly, I woke up craving something excessively chocolatey on the first day of my pseudo-holiday. Somehow, that was reassuring. With a huge sigh of relief on finding out that I wasn’t burnt out, I went on to make an old favorite recipe of mine, practically synonymous with chocolate. I had it filed under ‘mayday, excessive, CHOCOLATE’. So I knew in my gut and my head, this was the way to go. I also felt generous enough (strategic planning on my part disguised as generosity – I’d eat em all if I could) to ship them to a friend of mine because it is the holiday season, people. Special shout-out to my snowman ribbon which is my current obsession!

NOTE: You could bake them by measuring them out Levain bakery style – about 4 ounces (113 g) per cookie or just use an ice-cream scoop if you’re feeling lazy. If you measure them out, you’ll get 12 giant cookies and 20 if you use an ice-cream scoop. Either way, they’ll be gone before you can spell cookie.

Mayday Chocolate Cookies

Yields: 12 – 20 (see note above)

Source: Annie’s Eats

1 cup (227 g) COLD butter, cut into cubes

1 1/4 cups (250g) sugar

2 eggs

1/2 cup (42 g) dark cocoa powder (I used dutch process and highly recommend it for a serious dark chocolate kick – it makes all the difference)

2 1/4 cups (270 g) flour

1/4 tsp salt (omit if using salted butter)

1 tsp baking powder

2 1/2 cups (430 g) chocolate chips, preferrably Callebaut 53% chocolate chip callets

1. Pre-heat the oven to 175 deg C. Line 2 cookie trays with a silicon mat or baking paper and set aside.

2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, add sugar and cold butter. Beat well on medium-high speed for about 2 – 3 minutes till the butter is pale but fluffy.

3. Add the eggs one at a time, scraping down the sides between each addition and beating only until blended in. Add the cocoa powder and beat on low speed till just combined.

4. Add flour, chocolate chips (reserving a handful for scattering later on before they bake – pure gold tip from Purple Foodie) and baking powder. Beat on low speed till just combined. If there are still some streaks of dough, dump the contents onto a worktop and knead lightly with your hands till well combined. Using whatever method you prefer, add cookies onto your baking trays. Refrigerate one while one tray is baking and preferably, refrigerate the dough too.

5. They’re ready once they’re slightly darker around the edges – transfer to a cooling rack. They’ll dry out as they cool but the real gem of the cookie is the texture – they are cakey soft in the middle and just adequately crisp on the outside. Store up to a week in an airtight container.

DSC_0106

The above picture is with the entire Christmas fineries but my favorite remains this one.

Leave a Reply

