Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes

For a cake ‘shipper, I don’t seem to have too many cake recipes (can there ever be?) on the blog. You shouldn’t take that to mean that at times, I don’t find cake crumbs in my hair (totally legit while cake decorating). I’m awfully lazy most of the times and the fact that my primary job also involves cake is a deterrent. When people order cakes off the menu, some of which are here, I’m so focussed on getting the job done that I forget to snap a picture or (mostly because) my hands are coated in frosting. I don’t have a chance, edgewise to write a post about it. Other times, there are age old recipes that everyone loves and I’m tempted to share them with you but I’m stowing away for a book someday. Either way, I’m back to the oven and my computer, day after day after day and always, always grateful to be able to do what I do. Thank YOU for making it possible.

These cupcakes, made just for me, after a long time. In the spirit of full disclosure, there were made for my sister who recently started a new job but really, there were for me in the truest sense. Nobody picked out a flavour, nobody gave me specifics about sprinkles or nut allergies. My gut took the wheel and I strapped on for the ride. If you’ll believe in donating personalities to cupcakes, this one is all around sensible. A perfectly vanilla cake, filled with just-appropriately-sweetened pastry cream and an indulgent chocolate glaze which could bring grown people on their knees; now that’s a cupcake. It has all the elements of being OTT but they’re concealed in the overall vanilla-chocolate façade. You didn’t hear it from me but this may well be on the top 5 contenders for my upcoming birthday. It has tough competition from all the cakes in the Momofuku book but I’m not saying anything.

After a really long time, I was bowled over by the cake part of the cupcake. Generally and it’s something I’m not too agreeable with, cupcakes are doused in frosting, detracting from the natural balanced ratio of cake to frosting. The idea is to have both – the cake in frosting in equal proportions. That’s *why* they work — because they need to be in perfect harmony. This cupcake makes the statement – all for cake/frosting equality.

DSC_0031

Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes

Yields: 20 – 22 cupcakes

Source: Browneyedbaker

Note: You can make the pastry cream up to 2 days in advance, bringing to room temperature before you start filling the cupcakes. I’d suggest you start with the pastry cream (it also needs some refrigeration time), work on the cupcakes and make the glaze at the very end as it works best when it’s warm. For a quick tutorial on how to fill cupcakes, see here

For Pastry Cream:

1 1/3rd cup cream (I used Amul)

3 egg yolks (separated when they’re cold)

1/3rd cup (67 g) caster sugar

4 tsp cornstarch

2 tbs (26 g) butter

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1. In a heavy bottomed saucepan, add cream and heat on a gentle flame. Meanwhile, whisk together the yolks and sugar till pale. Add cornstarch and continue to whisk till it’s fluffy.

2. Once the cream has come to a low boil, add some cream to the yolks and whisk well. Then add yolks mixture to the saucepan, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon till the cream has thickened slightly. Ensure you’re doing this over low flame as it tends to burn or split. Strain into a bowl and refrigerate for 2 hours or up to 2 days.

For the Cake:

1 3/4 cups (210 g) flour

1 cup (200 g) caster sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

12 tbs or 3/4 cup (170 g) butter, cold but softened

3 eggs

3/4 cup whole milk

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1. Pre-heat the oven to 175 deg C. Line a cupcake tin with cupcake liners and set aside.

2. In the bowl of a stand mixer with the paddle attachment fitted, add flour, sugar and baking powder. Mix on low speed till it combined. Then, with the mixer running on medium, add the butter in little clumps till the mixture is sandy in appearance. Add the eggs, one at a time, with the machine running on low speed till combined. Finally, add milk and vanilla and mix until the batter is fluffy and lump free – about 2 minutes.

3. Pour into cupcake liners, filling each up to 2/3rd full. Bake for 15 – 20 minutes or until it tests done when a skewer inserted in the cupcake comes out clean. Set aside to cool.

For the chocolate glaze:

Note: I was left over with a lot of chocolate glaze afterwards and while I’ve been sneaking some into my coffee every morning since, it may not be of much use to you. I’ve given the full recipe here but feel free to half it. 

3/4 cup cream (I used Amul)

1/4 cup light corn syrup

8 oz (226 g) finest chocolate, finely chopped

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1. In a heavy bottomed saucepan, add all the ingredients for the glaze. Heat over low flame till melted, stirring constantly. Let it cool and come to room temperature before using.

For assembly:

1. For each cupcake, use a vegetable corer or a plain round tip to poke a hole in the centre of the cupcake. Fill with pastry cream and add cored cupcake on top. Spoon over the chocolate glaze and serve!

DSC_0115

Leave a Reply

