Baked Jalapeno Dip

I made this dip just because. Just because I had some vegetables left over. Just because I had some bits of cheese leftover. Just because I wanted to use my cast-iron skillet again. Just because I had an overwhelming urge to stuff my face into something cheesy. It’s cool, I ate  oddly healthy week last week. I made goddessy salad dressing and munched on granola bars. My latest vice is freshly squeezed orange and sweet lime juice. All in all, healthy eating is starting to lose it’s green glowy appeal. I’m moving on to cheese and spices but I’m keeping the freshly squeezed OJ people.

The timing of this dip is perfect because it’s festive season. It makes a good amount and it’s ridiculously easy. I’d also make this for kids because you can hide all kinds of things under this stretchy cheesy layer. You can make this once in a while but please don’t skimp out on the cheese or make a lightened up version. Serve with crusty bread and lots of drinks – this is one hot mess but man, does it dehydrate you.

DSC_0011

Baked Jalapeno Dip

Serves: 6 to 8

Source: Amrita Kaur’s Party Cookshop

1 tbs olive oil

1/2 tbs butter

3 – 4 cloves of garlic, minced finely

A large handful of spinach leaves

1 small onion, sliced

2 – 3 jalapenos, deseeded if you prefer and chopped

300g assorted cheese (whatever blend you have lying around the house)

1 large bell pepper, diced

4 tsp mayonnaise

1 tsp red paprika flakes

1 tsp dried oregano

Salt and pepper, to taste

Spring onion leaves, for garnish (optional)

1. Pre-heat the oven to 200 deg C. In a cast iron skillet, add oil and butter. Once the butter has melted, add onion and garlic and saute till fragrant on low heat. Throw in the spinach leaves, peppers and jalapenos. Saute for 2 minutes or until it’s slightly softened and fragrant. Turn off the heat.

2. In a small bowl, mix mayonnaise, salt, pepper and remaining seasoning. Drizzle over sauteed vegetables and mix well. Add grated cheese and garnishes and transfer to the pre-heated oven to bake for 20 minutes or until cheese is bubbling. Serve with crusty bread.

DSC_0047

Leave a Reply

