Green Goddess Salad Dressing

Do you ever have post-food-binge guilt? I’m sure you do. I’m sure you also know how annoying it is. I propose we get rid of it – once and for all and I have a plan. Make a large batch of this goddessy green dressing – drizzle it over everything and maybe have a doughnut later. It’s all about achieving a delicate balance, isn’t it? I mean, come on people. We live in a world where all bad things are possible. So what’s wrong with having apple cake for breakfast? We all need to live a little. I mean, sure, I’ve become a little more vigilant about my food choices – I tend to skip post-dinner dessert (oh how, I miss you old friend!) and eat some Greek yogurt with fruit instead. I recently have started loving stir fries of any kind which means I can easily forego carbs at night. It’s not because I *have* to. I’m actually… wait for it… *willing* to. Maybe my quarter life crisis is finally here. Is this what it looks like? Terrifying.

I’ll admit a large chunk of the reason why I made this dressing was so I could use my shiny new blender. Or at least I recently discovered I had one. It came with my stand mixer and while Diwali cleaning, I found it tucked away. Anyway, this dressing is pure magic. It includes avocado which makes it buttery, some fresh green herbs and simple seasoning. It’s also not shy to include garlic and shallots (I used half of a small onion) which is great. It’s pure, good flavour with none of the nasty guilt afterwards. I made a jar yesterday and kept some to drizzle over some simple stir fry later. I caught my mom sneaking some on a sandwich too. Whatever the vehicle, you’ll want this dressing around for a long time.

NOTE: Traditionally, the dressing includes anchovies and I’m sure they will be an excellent addition if you like them. I skipped those. The recipe also called for fresh tarragon (which I subbed for thyme). I also say a handful because it’s an unnecessary step to measure out chopped herbs in tablespoons. Just grab a large handful – whatever your fist can accommodate and proceed to chop all of them together.

Green Goddess Dressing

Yields: About 2 cups (500 ml)

Source: Food52

1/2 medium ripe avocado, scooped out

3 tbs white wine vinegar (I used apple cider – holy yum!)

1 – 3 garlic cloves, chopped

2 tsp lemon juice

3/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup Greek yogurt or heavy whipping cream

A handful of fresh flat-leaf parsley, chopped

A handful of fresh basil, chopped

2 – 3 large thyme stalks

1/2 small onion, chopped very finely

Salt and pepper, to taste

1. In a blender, add avocado, lemon juice, garlic and vinegar. Blitz till it has been pureed. With the motor running, drizzle oil through the funnel till it has emulsified. Drizzle in a steady stream, starting with little bit at a time. Remove contents into a bowl.

2. Add cream or yogurt to the mixture and whisk it in. Add herbs and chopped onion. Season well and refrigerate.

DSC_0061

It keeps well in the refrigerator for up to 3 – 4 days. Let it refrigerate for at least 3 hours and before serving, let it come to room temperature before giving a generous drizzle on soups, salads, chicken, fish or eggs.

 

One response to “Green Goddess Salad Dressing

  1. Pingback: Baked Jalapeno Dip | The Vanilla Bean·

Leave a Reply

