Friday Favorites

Picture2

Today is an unusual Friday Favorites post. I’ve decided to embark on a challenge of sorts and I thought the end of the week would be perfect for an announcement. I hope you’ll take this on with me!

The Challenge: No take-out dinners for 1 week!

The Idea: I don’t know about you but I find myself, more often than not, hanging up the apron strings and just reaching for the take-out menus. Of course, I love to cook but at the end of a long day, it’s so much easier to order take-out. Well, no more. I want to break the habit and challenge myself to create new meals for myself (and my family – but I’m obviously not enforcing this on them) without getting bored and craving unhealthy and expensive takeout. I plan to document my homemade dinners it here in short posts including one that will showcase recipes that I plan to make for the upcoming week. If you’d like to join me, just leave a comment on this post and I’ll link it all together! Barring weekends (Saturday and Sunday only, no cheating!), I’ll plan ahead for all 5 dinners – not all of them fancy – the idea is to keep it manageable, within reason, budget and enjoyable.

The Time: 1 week – barring weekends. I’d like to restrict the challenge to dinners only. It starts this Monday, 7th October!

The challenge has obvious benefits – health is one. I also want to get into the rhythm of planning ahead and making meals every day. Come, take this on with me! Even if you make your own blend of instant noodles, this will be a good change of pace! Hope to see you!

Upcoming Meals from 7th to 11th October 2013

 
  1. Monday: Raw Papaya Salad with Simple Sesame Noodles
  2. Tuesday: Jalapeno & Caramelised Onion Grilled Cheese
  3. Wednesday: Pistou Soup
  4. Thursday: Huevos Rancheros
  5. Friday: Chicken Sandwich
 
One response to “Friday Favorites

Leave a Reply

