DIY: Refrigerator Dill Pickle

Lets talk about speed, baby. Life has been moving extremely fast. I find myself full of lists and plans for upcoming blog posts and before I know it, amidst cupcake orders and birthday cakes, I’m staring at Friday in the face. Umm, how?! Believe me, I’m trying to stay afloat. I’m not complaining. It’s been fun and little surreal. At some point, I’d wait for an order to come by and now I run out baking supplies every two weeks! Case in point (if you don’t already follow me on Instagram), here’s a snapshot of my life over the past few weeks:

photo

Last week, I sneaked in a little DIY while making oven roasted tomatoes. It took me all of 10 minutes – I’m not kidding. I wasn’t a big fan of pickles but once you go down the DIY yellow road, there’s no turning back (although I draw the line at churning butter). So when Annie posted this super simple, few ingredients only recipe, I was more than intrigued. Most pickle recipes I’ve seen require a cup full of vinegar. Yuck. This one was right up my alley. I picked out cucumbers the day before, brought a bunch of fresh dill and had the remaining ingredients in my store cupboard. There’s no recipe to follow as such – just getting the proportions right. I made 2 jars with cucumber and another with jalapenos. The only thing – you need to wait for 2 days before the pickle can be eaten!

Refrigerator Dill Pickle

Yields: 2 large jars

Source: Annies Eats

2 – 3 medium hothouse cucumbers, washed and patted dry

A small bunch of dill, washed and patted dry

 4 cloves garlic, peeled

3 cups water

6 tbs white vinegar

3 – 4 tsp salt*

* – the original recipe calls for 3 tbs of kosher salt which I thought would be excessive. I reduced it by half and it was perfectly salty for me. Feel free to up the quantities if you wish.

1. Cut the cucumbers in spears, large enough to fit snugly in the jars.

2. In a large measuring jug, add water, vinegar and salt. Mix well with a spoon till salt has dissolved and check for seasoning, adding more if required. Set aside.

3. In the jar, add 2 garlic cloves at the bottom, along with some roughly torn dill. Add cucumber spears and pour over the vinegar liquid till the brim. Add some more dill on top and shut the lid. Refrigerate for 2 days before serving.

photo (1)

photo (2)

One response to “DIY: Refrigerator Dill Pickle

  1. You know, I do love pickled cucumbers! I also really like the ones we used to get back in our Middle Eastern super markets, those were salty for sure but delicious whenever I had the rare chance to have them (my mum never approved). Hehe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

