Lavender Lemonade

If I had a drink named after me, I’d like to think it would include lots of lemon and a little lavender (and maybe skip out on the booze altogether).  This drink could not be more summery if it tried. It’s odd because as I write, the weather is quite gloomy and grey and I’m tucked in trying to get rest and ward off an infection. But that’s just it – I crave lemon when I’m feeling sick. Just something about them – so bright and citrusy that it’s impossible not to feel better. Top it off with a ton of ice and a sprinkling of lavender and this drink is party ready. This makes enough for 1 but you could definitely double the recipe. I poured mine in a giant starbucks glass (about 16 fluid ounces) but you could definitely serve this is smaller glasses for 2.

The recipe is very adaptable for change. You could add soda instead of water and definitely add some basil or lemongrass instead of lavender. For a fruity take, any kind of berry will do. Or else, for plain ol’ lemonade, you add some zest to the simple syrup for heightened lemon flavor and some juice later. This also makes for an excellent way to get rid of leftover lemons. Say if you were making this cake and had some lemon leftover that you didn’t use in moutabal, this recipe would be it. The only thing I’d alter the next time would be adding some salt and perhaps reducing the sugar – it was a tad too sweet for me. The only formula you need to remember is to have equal quantities of sugar and water. You can play around with the quantities and flavors to achieve the perfect lemonade for you!

Lavender Lemonade

Serves: 1 (or 2)

Source: The Vanilla Bean original

For the syrup:

1/2 a lemon

1/2 – 1 tsp lavender

1/4 cup (50 g) granulated sugar (you can reduce the quantity to 25 – 40 g)

1/4 cup water

For the lemonade:

16 oz (500 ml) chilled water

Ice cubes

Lime slices, to decorate

1. In a small saucepan, add sugar, water and lavender. Bring to a boil and let it simmer till sugar has dissolved completely. Juice the lemon and stir to dissolve. Let it cool.

2. When you’re ready to serve, prepare the serving glasses by adding ice cubes. Pour the cooled syrup over the ice and top up with chilled water. Add lime slices and serve immediately.

photo 1

NOTE: If you intend to serve it later and/or in larger quantities, remember to add ice at the last possible minute! For larger quantities, you can make the syrup and pour into a jug, add chilled water and leave it to cool in the refrigerator. 
3 responses to “Lavender Lemonade

  1. Hey,
    Love the whole idea of this lemonade and especially with the infusion of lavender in it… The lemonade looks so refreshing on its own that I want to have right from the pic… 🙂
    That gets me to my curious question, whr did u manage to get lavender…. Pleaseeee can u temme…?? Been hunting it in every store that has imported goods but to no avail.. 😦

    • Hi Payal! How’ve you been?

      Thanks. Unfortunately, I asked my friend to pick it up for me when she was in London. I tried looking for it here too. You could use lavender scented tea. Follow the same method, Should work really well 🙂

  2. Of late, I’m beginning to grow as fond of lavender as I am, of vanilla! ^.^ Naturally, I’m going to itch to try this out, and I’ll see if I can have anyone swing by from outside India and get me some springs of the flower or such. I’m sure it tastes as calming and refreshing as it sounds. I am gonna reply to your DM soon, I fractured my ankle Friday (it’s only hairline so it’s alright) but I find it incredibly difficult to move around. Cast! For a month. Enough about me, I suspect I’ll be reading your blog more than ever now! Hee hee!

Leave a Reply

