Basil Alfredo Macaroni with Roasted Tomatoes

I really do have the best intentions pre-dinner. I want to eat healthy, eat light, have lots of crunchy greens and sub starchy things with all kinds of couscous look alikes. I also have great aspirations to sleep early and wake up early and stay away from coffee calling out to me and possibly go for a run or do yoga. Yea, no. It doesn’t always pan out that way. More often than not, the day goes by like a blur between orders and workshop planning and by dinner, all I want is a bowl of instant noodles and a giant vat of coffee. Sometimes, I’m tempted to leave out the savoury entirely and dunk my face in chocolate cream pie. Yes, the exact picture of health we aim for. This monday, I stayed away from Pinterest and made some quick and painless Alfredo sauce to keep my oven dried tomatoes company. 

Sometimes, and not always, my decisions work out to be the best. And so, so delicious. My sister licked her plate clean and my dad shamelessly proceeded to eat half of my plate. Looks like Meatless Mondays are here to stay.

This sauce is beautifully dotted with basil greens but you can use spinach for a stronger tasting sauce if you like. I love the summery fragrance basil offers and how it works beautifully with tomatoes. Alfredo sauce is not exactly low-cal but I did use low-fat cream! Also, we always seem to have macaroni in our pantry but I’m going to make this with spaghetti the next time. I bet some grilled chicken would make for an excellent summer meal.

Basil Alfredo Sauce with Roasted Tomatoes

Source: The Vanilla Bean original

Serves: 3 – 4

2 tbs butter

1 tsp olive oil

100 gm basil, washed and patted dry

200 ml double cream (I used 25% fat)

1 tsp red chili flakes

1 small onion, chopped finely

3 – 4 cloves of garlic, minced

1/2 cup pasta water (water that pasta has been cooked in)

400 gm elbow macaroni or pasta of your choice, cooked and drained

Parmesan cheese, for garnish

Salt and black pepper, to taste

Oven Roasted Tomatoes, for garnish (optional but recommended!)

1. In a large skillet, add butter and olive oil and let it melt over medium-high heat. Add chopped onions and a pinch of salt, garlic and chili flakes. Turn down the heat till onions are translucent and garlic fragrant. Add chopped basil and stir to combine. I like to add some stems too for added flavor.

2. Then, working quickly, add cream and stir it in, keeping the flame on low so the cream won’t burn. Add a dash of pasta water and add cooked pasta to the sauce. Season well and turn off the heat. Serve with grated parmesan and sliced tomatoes.

photo 2

Leave a Reply

