DIY: Oven Roasted Tomatoes

Tomatoes and me totally have a thing going. It’s my favorite way to sex up a  grilled cheese and I could possibly sip tomato pasta sauce through a straw. So I suppose a post like this was a long time coming. Roasting tomatoes may not be up everyone’s flavor wheelhouse but I like that it brings about this tartness in them – a tomato’s best feature, if you ask me. Its kind of like applying a face mask – it amplifies the beauty of them. You can have them on just about anything. What I wouldn’t do, after this is buy pre-packaged sun dried tomatoes. I mean, why?!

It’s an extremely simple recipe too and the best part is it needs just about 40 minutes in the oven. The reason why I’ve held out for so long is possibly because most recipes need about 3 – 4 hours. There’s just no way for me to give up my oven for so long! 40 – 50 minutes of beautifying in the oven is perfectly adequate for these babies. No recipe to follow as such, but it does warrant it’s own post because you need to let them roast before you add them to any recipe. You can make them up to a day before and let them sit in an airtight container in the refrigerator. 

photo 1

1. Preheat the oven to 200 deg C. Wash and dry 3 medium sized tomatoes. Then, cut thick but even slices (because uneven pieces will mean some extra burnt ones!). Place them on a cookie tray lined with foil, parchment paper or a silicon mat. Dress lightly with olive oil, sea salt and freshly ground pepper. Bake for 40 – 45 minutes till the tomatoes are shrivelled and fragrant. Store up to 4 days in the refrigerator. 

Note: I did do some research about them lasting even longer if you preserve them in some olive oil but unfortunately, they were over before I could experiment. Next time!

photo

 

photo

My favourite way to enjoy them, besides pasta is to sandwich them over thick slices of multi-grain bread, a slice of low-fat cheese, some torn up basil leaves and a dash of hot sauce!

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “DIY: Oven Roasted Tomatoes

Leave a Reply

