PB&C cookies

I’m afraid of silly things. I’m trying to overcome my nervousness of flying. I’m terrified of crossing busy streets and I think animals will continue to scare me. I was also afraid of peanut butter. A few years ago, after too many Snickers bars, I found myself with a swollen tongue. I crossed peanuts off my list and figured that I wasn’t missing much. I never liked them much anyway. Till one day, on a whim, after too much Pinterest-ing, I decided to make these. There’s no going back now. I did read somewhere that if you’re allergic to a certain thing, you can try to have it in mild doses. So this is me trying, in the name of research of course.

Making these was a fairly simple, straightforward process – creaming, adding the egg, adding the dry ingredients and chocolate chips. Easy. These were inspired by plain peanut butter cookies and I just love the texture. I didn’t switch the sugar quantities and I think it was a good decision – the cookies were puffy, thick, soft in the centre and crisp on the outside. You can always leave them plain if you love peanut butter. Next time, I’m thinking of doing a thumbprints version with some grape jelly in the centre. Sounds fun right?

Peanut Butter & Chocolate Chip Cookies

Yields: 18 – 20 even sized cookies

Source: Crazy for Crust

1/2 cup (113 g) butter, softened

3/4 cup (185g) creamy peanut butter

3/4 cup (150g) brown sugar

1/4 cup (50 g) caster sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tbs milk

1 tsp baking soda

2 cups (240g) flour

2 cups chocolate chips (optional)

1. In a bowl, add flour and baking soda. Use a whisk to combine. Set aside.

2. In the bowl of a stand mixer (or a large bowl, if using a hand mixer), add butter and peanut butter and using a paddle attachment, cream them together just until combined. Add the sugars and cream again for 2 – 3 minutes till light, fluffy and combined. With the motor running on low speed, add the egg and extract and mix just until combined. Add the flour mixture and chocolate chips, if using. Refrigerate the dough for 4 hours or overnight.

3. When ready to bake, preheat the oven to 175 deg C. Line a cookie tray with silicone mat or parchment paper. Use an ice-cream scoop to scoop out the dough, bake the cookies for 15 – 17 minutes until they are lightly golden brown on the outside. Let them cool on the tray for at least 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack with a spatula. Be careful because they’ll be quite delicate at first! Store in an airtight container for 5 days.

photo

Leave a Reply

