Heavenly Hot Chocolate for 2

My mother will readily attest to the fact that I was a picky eater. I was never the one who willingly gulped down a glass of milk (even though, under my supervision, 2 tablespoons of chocolate powder were added), I always questioned what was in those suspiciously green “mashed” vegetable like inventions and I never, ever ate something because it was “good” for me. Gosh, I hope my children will be nicer to me. Everyday, before going to school, while my mother would pack up our lunchboxes, we’d sit in the kitchen all dressed in our school uniforms to drink the dreaded milk. We went through many brands of chocolate powders and many other strategies, some which included dumping the milk into the sink when she wasn’t looking but that didn’t end well because I’m a terrible liar with a terrible poker face. The only time we were allowed to have tea was when we were sick. And this tea would have a lot of milk and some ground up cardamom and ginger (the Indian version, called masala chai) and yes, while it was a respite from the awful milk drinking, it still had a lot of milk for my comfort. At some point, during a Biology class, I learnt about the term lactose intolerant and tried using that on my mother, which didn’t work either.

So finally, when I moved to boarding school, I drank coffee all through (and the really good one) so circling back, I never thought it would come to this – where I willingly drank a cup of chocolate milk. But this is so much more than that. This hot chocolate has a personality, people. It’s deep, warm, coats your throat and is so comforting, you want to weep. It took me all of 25 minutes to get off my desk and make + drink + photograph this. It wears a thin veil of danger, this one – the fact that it is so simple to make, you’ll want to drink it all the time. Do not add any sugar to this because it interferes with the taste and use really good chocolate. It is so much better than those god-awful pre-packaged sachets with the synthetic flavoring. This is real and as good as it gets. If you’re the adventurous type, try infusing it with orange peels or adding some spice (nutmeg + cinnamon + dash of chili powder). If you’re making it for 1, then make the full recipe and save the remaining cup for when you make your coffee. Add a shot of good, strong, brewed coffee, then add the hot chocolate and sit back and think about this life altering drink.

Hot Chocolate for 2

Serves: 2

Source: Purple Foodie

1 cup (200 ml) whole milk

1/2 cup (100 ml) double cream (I used Amul fresh cream)

100 g finest chocolate, cut into chunks

1. In a small saucepan, combine the milk and cream and let it come to a gentle simmer over medium high heat. Turn off the heat and add the chocolate. Whisk it in till its combined and serve hot!

  photo

One response to “Heavenly Hot Chocolate for 2

Leave a Reply

