Friday Favorites

Image

 

Happy Friday! Hope you guys have exciting things planned this weekend – the rains are playing hide and seek but the weather is breezy and resilient!

#1 I’m very excited with the DIY way of doing things – we buy so many products off the shelf that contain preservatives and taste so synthetic. Habit is so not your friend sometimes. Anyway, I was super pumped about my chocolate syrup this week and have been drinking it with my coffee religiously since. I want to attempt more such syrups next. Currently, I’m eyeing this toffee syrup over at (you guessed it) Annie’s Eats.

#2 I know I don’t spend enough time making healthy substitutions and most of the times, it’s okay because there’s no reason to. But I know so many people suffering with gluten allergies that educating yourself is a must. I found this handy guide to knowing your grains on Huffington Post. A must read, in today’s time, if you ask me.

#3 After reading The Happiness Project, both 1 & 2, I began to collect quotes that inspired me or touched me in some way. Since I always have my phone on me, I’ve began noting them there, for now. Someday, I want to copy them out in a pretty journal. These quotes come from many places, least of all books. Although I do have my favorite passages from my favorite books, I collect quotes from practically anywhere. Rubin insists that starting a collection of something that you’re keen on, as arbitrary as it may seem, contributes significantly towards your happiness. My recent favorite quote reads:

“I wanted a perfect ending. Now I’ve learned the hard way, that some poems don’t rhyme, and some stories don’t have a clear beginning, middle or an end. Life is about not knowing, having to change, taking the moment and making the best of it, without knowing what’s going to happen next. Delicious ambiguity.” Gilda Radner

#4 I’m an article hoarder. Any interesting link I come across, I must read. That’s why I love compilations of articles. This one is a particular favorite. Empowering stuff.

Photo Framed:

Hummingbird High: Yellow Birthday Cake with Chocolate Frosting (for Two!)
Source: Hummingbird High (via Pinterest)
While it seems like I have a bottomless pit where it concerns cakes, sometimes small is good. This makes enough for 2 - adorable! 

For more such cute cakes, follow my Pinterest board here. 

Leave a Reply

