{Skinny} Shamrock Shake for 1

Milkshake has never been my go-to dessert option, much less a skinny milkshake. It probably has to do with the fact that I don’t like frozen yogurt or ice-cream and I’ve never been a fan of milk. So I was totally but pleasantly surprised when I finished an entire glass of this and still craved some more. Minty, chocolatey and packed a vanilla punch – all in one glass and the fact that it doesn’t have as many calories (but who is counting?) is just the guilt-free bonus.

This comes together pretty easily and I have to say that I love that we have frozen yogurt available at our disposal now. In fact, I can now safely add this to the pantry staples list. I found mine at Nature’s Basket but you can use whatever you like. Of course, you can always sub ice-cream too but sub standard won’t do. I used mint oreos for the shamrock bit and I loved the thick blizzard like bit – my favorite bit was scooping out the leftover crumbs from the glass. Good times. I blended the vanilla and chocolate-Oreo separately but in the same blender. I started with a scoop of vanilla and poured that into the glass then followed with chocolate-Oreo. Anything to avoid washing up, I say.

Skinny Shamrock Shake

Source: The Vanilla Bean Original

Serves: 1

1 scoop Vanilla frozen yogurt

1 scoop Chocolate frozen yogurt

2 – 4 Mint flavored Oreos + 1/2 to garnish

2 – 4 tbs Baileys or Creme de Cocoa

6 – 8 tbs milk

1. In the bowl of a blender, add vanilla yogurt and 2 – 4 tablespoons of milk – as much as it takes to thin the yogurt. Pour that into the glass and set aside.

2. In the same bowl, add Oreos and pulse to combine. Add chocolate frozen yogurt, Baileys and milk and pulse again. Pour into the same glass and let it swirl. Garnish with an Oreo cookie or crumbs and serve chilled!

photo

Leave a Reply

