Chocolate Almond Wafer Cookies

Ideally speaking, my days would be spent in a giant dream kitchen, cooking up fresh pasta in brown butter sauce and baking really good cookies to share over coffee with everyone. With work taking off as it has, no complaints there, I find myself spending hours making lists and then making sure everything has been checked off the lists. Conducting workshops is and always will be fun but some days, I long to potter around in my tiny kitchen. Some days are full of new recipe testing and tons of cookies and some days are a juggle of both.

Today is one of those days. I’m a compulsive coffee drinker and have at least 3 different kinds of blends in my cupboard at any given time. I also have a coffee machine and a filter coffee maker. While I’m working, I go through 2-3 cups of coffee and this pointless rant leads to the fact that you really can’t have coffee without a cookie to accompany it. And so, the chocolate almond wafer cookie was born. I’ve been eyeing this cookies for a long time and I’ll admit its because I’m curious about the texture. To me (and to most people in India), wafers mean the kind that a Kit-Kat bar is made of. This cookie is obviously different. I used a carefully saved up kitchen roll cylinder to perfect the log shape. It is the *coolest* trick ever. Basically, you wrap the dough is cling wrap and slit a kitchen roll cylinder through the middle and place the dough in it. Then, refrigerate and remove the cylinder just before unwrapping and baking the cookie. Perfect log cookies, every time. The process is pretty straightforward and I just dressed up with dough with some ground almonds but you can leave them out. As for slicing the wafer cookie thicker, I prefer my cookies chunky and thick. You can slice them thinly, if you prefer. All in all, it is a pretty adaptable cookie and is an excellent companion for coffee.

Chocolate Almond Wafer Cookies

Yields: About 16 thick cookies

Source: Joy of Baking

1 cup (120 g) flour

1/2 cup (50 g) Cadbury’s Cocoa powder (not dutch processed, use any brand of unsweetened cocoa powder)

1/4 tsp baking soda

3 tbs (45 g) butter

3 tbs (45 g) Nutralite (reduced-fat butter, you can use regular butter too)

1/2 cup (100 g) brown sugar*

2/3 cup (140 g) caster sugar*

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 egg white

6 tbs crushed almonds (optional)

* Please note that I prefer my cookies less fudgy and more crispy so I switch quantities of brown and white sugars to achieve the same. If you prefer yours fudgy, switch quantities.

1. In the bowl of a stand mixer, add the butter/s and sugars and beat on high speed to combine till the mixture is light and fluffy. Add egg white and vanilla extract and beat on medium speed to combine.

2. In a small bowl, mix together the flour, cocoa powder and baking soda. Add to mixer bowl and beat on low speed just till combined.

3. Dump the contents onto a chopping board lined with cling wrap. If necessary, bring the dough together with your hands. Sprinkle with crushed almonds on all sides, if using, and wrap tightly. Cut a kitchen roll cylinder in half, through the center and place wrapped dough into it. Refrigerate overnight or until firm, but because the dough is really soft, I’d recommend overnight refrigeration for best results.

4. When ready to bake, pre-heat the oven to 175 deg C. Line a cookie tray with a silicon mat or parchment paper and remove the log from the fridge. Cut into thick or thin slices and place on mat, a few inches apart as they tend to spread. Bake for 10 – 12 minutes till they appear puffy and crackled on top. Let it stand on the cookie sheet for a few minutes before removing. Dough freezes well and baked cookies can last up to 10 days if stored in airtight containers.

photo 1

photo 3

photo

2 responses to “Chocolate Almond Wafer Cookies

  1. Ooh, Rosh! Pasta in a brown butter sauce! YUM! And these wafer-thin cookies look heavenly.

    P.S. I’ve been meaning to order something apple pie-y from you. I will, soon. I’ll go through that menu again. 🙂

  2. Pingback: It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas! | The Vanilla Bean·

Leave a Reply

