Gluten Free Brownies

Gluten free has been on my mind lately. Co-incidence or not, I’ve come across a lot of gluten free recipes in the past few days and even so, it has been on my list of things to achieve. I recently came to know of a family member that has developed gluten intolerance and I meet a lot of people who’d like to give up gluten for dietary or health reasons. So it was about time I crossed them off the list.  Brownies are classic and fail-safe. You bring them to dinner, you make them as a thank-you gift, leave them under the Christmas tree… I figured if anything needs more than one version, it has got to be brownies! Also on my mind – photography! With the rainy days here to stay, I’ve been obsessing over getting the right “light” and correct “angle”. I never thought I’d turn into one of the lighting and angle obsessed. I was happy to take a quick snapshot of my brownie or cake before digging into it without the over hanging threat of whether or not I had photographed it correctly. But I’ve been liking my down time with the DSLR. I’m not quite there but along with baking equipment or new ingredients, I now find myself keeping my eyes peeled for “props” like pretty plates or colorful napkins. There’s no turning around people.

To me, finding a new blog and tearing through it will never get old. It still remains one of my favorite things to do. I recently found Passionate About Baking. It helps that the writer isn’t too far away which means there will be a ton of info on baking with local ingredients – I always look forward to discovering new ingredients produced fresh. This one also has beautiful pictures to complement – so much inspiration! These brownies are a perfect way to start up a tribute – they are so dense and chocolatey and no one could tell they didn’t have flour! It uses a clever mix of oats and almond flour to sub for flour. Next time, I’m going to try grinding the oats a little. If you don’t have almond flour, grand a handful of almonds and grind them finely, then measure them. For the last few pulses, you can throw in the oats as well. Serve these masked brownies at your next do and watch everyone fall in love with them. Who doesn’t love tricksters after all?

P.S – Since writing and editing this post, I’ve made them twice already. They’re that good.

Gluten Free Brownies

Yields: 8 large pieces

Source: Passionate About Baking

Note: I’ve provided volume measurements as per the original recipe as no cup measurements are provided. 
 

100 g butter

200 g dark chocolate, cut into chunks or chips

2 tsp coffee powder (optional, but so good!)

100 g sugar

3 eggs

50 g instant oats

25 g almond meal

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

Walnuts, almonds, hazelnuts, pecans (optional)

Chocolate chips, to garnish (optional)

1. Pre-heat the oven to 175 deg C. Line a baking tray with a silicon mat and cover a brownie tin with parchment paper, leaving some to over hang on the sides for easy removal later.

2. In a heat proof bowl, add chocolate and butter and melt in the microwave in small intervals till completely melted and smooth – about 30 seconds. Whisk to combine. Add sugar and whisk again. The mixture will become grainy. Add in the eggs one at a time, beating carefully after each addition with a whisk. Add the vanilla extract and coffee powder with the last egg and combine.

3. In a small bowl, add oats and almond meal with baking powder. Give it a quick whisk and add to the melted chocolate mixture. Fold it in and pour into brownie pan. Add nuts or chocolate chips if using and bake for 20 – 25 minutes till a skewer inserted comes out with crumbs attached. Eat warm!

photo

4 responses to “Gluten Free Brownies

  1. Looks delicious! Up until now, I’ve always only used Betty Crocker mixes. I think I must bake from scratch once at least, it’ll be so soul-satisfying. Will pass this recipe on to my friends! 🙂

  2. Pingback: It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas! | The Vanilla Bean·

  3. Pingback: Best of 2013 | The Vanilla Bean·

Leave a Reply

