Friday Favorites: Bonus!

logo

Happy Friday! I’m so excited for this week’s edition because I can finally share with you some exciting news!

A few weeks ago, by pure coincidence, I chanced upon a very pretty blog – Jupiter Skye. I instantly fell in love with the illustrations. It rarely happens that I feel a strong connect to certain blogs because I just know what they’re writing about. The written word (and in this case, the rendered one too) is a powerful thing, people. So much so, that I felt compelled to write her an email asking if she could help with designing my logo. She replied and we met soon after. The meeting was brief but Roanna jotted down all my ranting in a tiny notebook and soon enough, I had the perfect logo. I can’t describe how good it felt to finally have a ‘face’ to a ‘name’, so to speak. It was just one of those things that I can’t imagine to be more perfect – the logo was so me. Roanna, if you’re listening, you did such a good job. I remember her asking me if I could picture anything specific and I remember being astounded. I honestly never pictured a logo. So she did have a tough job on her hands. So anyway, after some email exchanges and time crunches later, I had the perfect logo. I wanted to unveil it today but if you’ve been following me on Twitter and Instagram, you’d know that patience isn’t my strong suit. Anyway, here goes:

The Vanilla Bean Bakery - Cake Version

Credit: Roanna Fernandes

I just *love* it. It’s whimsical and simple at the same time. Needless to say, I’ll be making a few color changes on the blog to match the new face of The Vanilla Bean! To celebrate, I’m sharing a very simple chocolate pudding I made to commemorate. Happy weekend, everyone!

Simple Chocolate Pudding

Serves: 3

Adapted from: Joy The Baker

1/2 cup (100 g) caster sugar

 2 tbs corn starch

1 tbs cocoa powder

4 oz (113 g) dark chocolate, chopped

1 1/2 cups (180 ml) milk (full-fat or low-fat)

1 egg yolk

1 tbs butter, at room temperature

1 tsp vanilla extract

A dollop of Creme Fraiche, to serve (optional)

A handful of raspberries, to serve (optional)

1. In a measuring jug, add yolk and whisk it with a fork to break it up. Add milk and whisk again to combine. Set aside.

2. In a medium saucepan, add sugar, cornstarch, cocoa powder and whisk it to combine. Add chocolate chips and combine again. Set the saucepan over medium heat and immediately, begin pouring in the milk + yolk mixture. Keep whisking till the chocolate melts and all of the milk has been added. Be vigilant and do not leave the stove unattended. Once the chocolate has melted, switch to a wooden spoon and stir gently till the mixture comes to a low boil and thickens slightly. Turn off the heat and let it come to room temperature. Add butter and vanilla extract. Pour into serving dish and refrigerate for a few hours. Serve chilled, with some gorgeous raspberries and creme fraiche.

photo

One response to “Friday Favorites: Bonus!

  1. Thank you for saying such kind things, Rosh! But most of all, what makes me really, really happy is that you like it sooo much. It would have been pretty disheartening if I had failed. So thank you for giving me a chance, as well! It was a pretty name to begin with, and that really inspired me. To The Vanilla Bean Bakery! *CHEERS* Hehe.

Leave a Reply

