{DIY} Crème fraîche

There are many times I’ll skim through the pages of my favorite cookbook, look at pictures and feel REAL envy. Not hungry or inspired, I’m just envious. Elsewhere, it’s easier to procure ingredients that I consider basic necessities. Like Greek yogurt, for instance or raspberries (which are now available here! At Sante’s in Pali Naka) or Crème fraîche.  So every time the envy reaches breaking point, I resort to making it at home. Homemade Greek yogurt is dreamy creamy with real fruity flavor versus synthetic and I had great hopes for Crème fraîche. Essentially, its soured cream (and I plan to use them interchangeably because fresh sour cream is super expensive here) and used in desserts or sauces. The great thing is, if you need to use it in gravies, it doesn’t split!

I’m so glad I found this recipe, by default in Dorie Greenspan’s: Baking From My Home To Yours. It’s very easy to make – you just need heavy cream and a tablespoon of yogurt. C’est tout! It keeps for 10 days, refrigerated. I’d advise making this a day (or even 2) before you need it because it does need 12 – 24 hours to curdle. It’s so great with berries or over fruit or used in place of whipped cream! I’d love this over baked potatoes too. I could go on…

Crème fraîche

Yields: 1 cup (about 240 ml)

Source: Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home To Yours

1 cup (240 ml) heavy whipping cream

1 tablespoon yogurt

1. In a clean jar with a tight fitting lid, add a tablespoon of yogurt. Then, pour over cream and screw the jar lid on very tightly. Give it a good shake and leave it on the counter for at least 12 hours, or until sufficiently thick, which can take up to a day, depending on how hot it is. It took me 24 hours.

2. Finally, when it’s thick, refrigerate and use within 10 days.

photo

P.S – Debuting some exciting things in the next post. Look out!
2 responses to “{DIY} Crème fraîche

Leave a Reply

