Brown Butter Nutella Cookies with Sea Salt

Browned butter is taking over the world people. I see brown butter everywhere – muffins, scones, frosting. Today, it crept up in my cookies. To make myself feel better, I added one two handfuls of chocolate chips – the 53% kind. Then, if that wasn’t enough, I added Nutella and Mediterranean sea salt. Of course I couldn’t eat the entire batch if I tried so I shared them with a few friends. I don’t know if its in the air or what, but they have made me super popular. I think it entirely hinges on the fact that I should come up with a robot arm to keep producing these cookies, by the bucket full.

They are pretty simple to make. Getting the butter to brown well is crucial though. It lends a butterscotchy flavor that is out of this world – something that only comes if you brown it well. There’s a thin line between burning it and browning it so make sure you’re extra vigilant.  It pairs really well with Nutella and sea salt too. You don’t need to use unsalted butter – good ol’ Amul will do. What I generally do for recipes that call for extra salt as a garnish of sorts is that I use unsalted butter in baking and use light Mediterranean sea salt for garnish. Obviously, I don’t use salt while baking it, as is the norm if using salted butter.

For browning butter, watch this video. Also, I like my cookies less soft. If you do otherwise, swap the quantities of brown sugar and caster sugar.

Browned Butter Nutella Cookies with Sea Salt

Yields: about 2 dozen cookies

Source: Annie’s Eats

1 cup (227 g) butter, at room temperature

2 1/4 cups (270 g) flour

1 1/4 tsp baking soda

1 cup (200 g) caster sugar

1/2 cup (100 g) brown sugar

1 egg

1 egg yolk

2 tsp vanilla essence

1 tbsp yoghurt

1 3/4 cup chocolate chips

Nutella

Sea salt

1. In a skillet, add butter and heat over medium heat till it melts, stirring occasionally. Heat till it becomes fragrant and turns nutty brown in color.

2. Empty out the skillet into the bowl of a stand mixer and add the sugars. Beat with the paddle attachment for 3 – 4 minutes till well blended. Add the egg + yolk along with the vanilla essence and yogurt.

3. In a bowl, whisk together the flour, chocolate chips and baking soda. Add to the mixer and beat on low speed till combined. Do not overbeat.

4. Chill the dough for at least 30 minutes.

5. Meanwhile, pre-heat the oven to 175 deg C. Line a cookie tray with a silicon mat or parchment paper.

6. Scoop out the dough using an icecream scoop. Make an indentation with the back of a spoon and add a little bit of Nutella. Grate some sea salt on the cookie and repeat for remaining cookies. Remember to refrigerate the dough in between batches. Bake for 13 – 15 minutes till the edges have browned. Let them cool completely (they harden as they cool) and store in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

photo (1)

2 responses to “Brown Butter Nutella Cookies with Sea Salt

Leave a Reply

