Better-For-You Banana Peanut Butter Smoothie

SRS_Logo

Mondays have this amazing quality about them. I never dread Mondays. There’s just something about them, akin to beginning of anything – it always seems so exciting and full of hope. At first. Let’s not talk about the midweek slump or super sad Sundays. Let’s just not. This smoothie was the perfect toast to new beginnings. Its healthy (no sugar) and tastes so good. Remember I was thinking of new ways to add more breakfast items to my day? Mondays do that to you too. They ensure you begin the week crossing off your health resolution off the chart (my other health related resolution is to drink more water and like any other, I have an excellent app for that. It’s called Drink Right – it’s free and persistent enough for you to make drinking more water a habit).

Mondays are also my favorite for another reason. Recently, my sister and I imbibed a tradition of sorts. We rent a DVD and watch a new movie every Monday. Recently, we watched You’ve Got Mail and a little bit of Roman Holiday before the DVD conked off. Its work in progress. But the Surprise Recipe Swap (started by the very dynamic Jutta of Hungry Little Girl) couldn’t have come at a better time. These smoothies were the perfect addition to our movie night. We had them late night and they’re filling enough to kill any devious cravings. My partner for this month was Erika from Learning The Ropes One Recipe At A Time. I love her blog philosophy – eating clean, cooking with fresher ingredients that aren’t time consuming or expensive. I went back and forth trying to pin down one recipe I wanted to try but I finally went with the smoothie. The weather in Mumbai is HOT and all anyone can think of is drinking a ton of iced drinks. We really enjoyed these in a tall glass, topped with ice. Incidentally, because they are so simple to make, I made them again for breakfast the next day, pre-workout. Thanks Erika! You’ve given us a breakfast/midnight snack staple!

Better-For-You Banana Peanut Butter Smoothie

Serves: 2 (9 oz serving per glass)

Source: Learning The Ropes One Recipe At A Time

2 bananas*

1 1/2 tbs cocoa powder

1 tbs peanut butter (I used chunky – personal preference)

1 tbs honey or maple syrup

1 cup skim milk

1. Blend all the ingredients in a blender and enjoy cold!

photo 1

* I don’t particularly love frozen bananas so I just used ripe bananas and allotted enough chill time in the refrigerator. If you’re short on time, you can always just top this up with lots of ice. Check back on the original recipe page for nutritional values per serving!

button

4 responses to “Better-For-You Banana Peanut Butter Smoothie

Leave a Reply

