Rocky Road Brownie Cookies

I spend a large part of my day dreaming up things. Cake or cookie specific things, to be exact. I wonder how to make a rose and orange infused cupcakes, I dream of making a taller-than-me coconut-lime cake and I always, always think of ways to make large enough batches of cookies to survive a apocalyptic event. Now I can never, ever pick a favorite dessert (urban myth – there’s no such thing) but I really do love me a cookie. I like to make fist sized versions that mean business – those that can be dunked in coffee, those that leave crumbs and especially that involve a good serving of chocolate.

These cookies were a total spur-of-the-moment decision. I had a brainwave today morning and decided I didn’t experiment with cookies enough. I needed to add a brownie-cookie to the mix. I’m familiar with the concept of a brownie-cookie – it’s super soft and so inviting you want to have this for 3 meals straight (I can neither confirm nor deny this fact). And while its super soft, it’s no cookie to be messed around with. You mix up the batter like a brownie (melt chocolate + butter, add eggs and dry ingredients) but the real magic happens in the oven. Somehow, it retains the texture of a brownie and when you take the first bite they surprise you. You know me, I like surprises. I threw in some marshmallows and pecans. The original recipe calls for white chocolate and macadamia nuts which are my bestie’s favorite ( Hi Nayana!) so I’ll be making that version soon enough. It may not visually be the most prettiest cookie you make but it means well. Make it soon!

Rocky Road Brownie Cookies

Adapted from: Joy The Baker

Yields: About 2 dozen

8 oz (226 g) dark chocolate chips/roughly chopped chunks

3 tbs butter

1 cup (120 g) flour, sifted

1/4 tsp baking powder

1 cup (200 g) caster sugar

1 tsp coffee powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 eggs

1/4 cup mini marshmallows

1/4 cup pecans, roughly chopped

1. Pre-heat the oven to 175 deg C. Line a cookie tray with a cookie mat and set aside.

2. In a heat-proof bowl, add the chocolate and butter and melt in 10 second bursts in the microwave till combined and completely smooth. Whisk in the coffee powder and sugar.

3. Whisk in the eggs, one at a time and add the vanilla extract. Add the flour and baking powder. Finally, add the marshmallows and pecans and fold in gently to distribute evenly.

4. Drop heaped teaspoonfuls on the lined baking tray and bake for 10 – 11 minutes. They make look underdone, but that is part of the charm. Let them cool completely and serve!

photo 1

photo 2

 

Leave a Reply

