Chocolate Cream Pie

Image

I’m so excited for my very first Surprise Recipe Swap post! It’s always so nice to feel a part of a group and such a talented one at that! Generally, I love the freedom that my job brings – the ability to make and post things on a whim but the feeling of doing something as a group (added bonus – making friends along the way) is incomparable. Thanks Hungry Little Girl for allowing me to be a part of this!

This month, my partner was the incredible Rediscover Mom! Because I was too excited for my very first, I got started early. I thumbed through her entire blog, marveling at the concept, it being ‘rediscovering lost arts from our mothers.’ How fun! I only hope to collect such a bank of recipes for my family someday! I settled on The Chocolate Cream Pie, after days of debating. I cannot begin to tell you how popular it has made me. The pie was a breeze to make and I found myself eating a whole sliver in one sitting! It was THAT good. I generally shy away from pies because of the tricky weather here and the generally perceived difficulty level but I have already made this twice in the past week and somehow I see myself making more!

Chocolate Cream Pie

Source: Rediscover Mom

Serves: A greedy 4 – 6

For the crust:

1 1/2 packets of Oreos (about 14 – 16 cookies)

4 tbs melted butter

For the filling:

2/3rd cup (133 g) sugar

1/4 cup cornstarch

4 egg yolks

1 cup cream + 1 cup milk (to make Half and Half, since it isn’t available here)

1 1/2 cups Amul Fresh Cream

1 cup (175 g) chocolate chips

1 tbs Cadbury Cocoa Powder

2 tbs butter

1 tsp vanilla extract

For the topping:

1 cup heavy whipping cream

4 – 6 tbs icing sugar

1. In the bowl of a blender, pulse oreo cookies till they’re powdered and add melted butter. Pulse again. Dump out the contents and line a pie plate by gently pressing with your knuckles. Freeze.

2. In the bowl of  a stand mixer with the whisk attachment, add cream and beat on high speed, while adding a tablespoon of icing sugar at a time till stiff peaks form. Refrigerate.

3. In a heatproof bowl, add chocolate, butter, 1/2 cup of cream and cocoa powder. Heat in the microwave till chocolate and butter melt. Whisk to combine and set aside.

4. Add yolks to a bowl. In a thick, heavy bottomed saucepan, add sugar, cornstarch, milk and remaining cream. Heat until it just boils. Add a little bit of the cream mixture to the yolks to temper them and finally, while whisking constantly, add yolks to the saucepan. Whisk for 2 minutes and take off the saucepan. Add the chocolate mixture to the hot cream mixture and pour over Oreo crust. Refrigerate for 4 hours or overnight till cream sets and serve with whipped cream and grated chocolate!

photo 1

photo 2

http://rediscovermom.blogspot.in/2013/04/surprise-recipe-swap.html

2 responses to “Chocolate Cream Pie

Leave a Reply

