Grand Marnier Apple Cake

I’m sorry. I know the boozy treats are coming at you one after another. But I can’t help it. I’ve never taken to drinking really, but I have this compulsion which I know most bakers suffer from. If you have a new thing on the kitchen counter, it must be used! I was super excited to try out simple desserts with a grown-up element.

Have you ever had one of those feelings where you never know what you’ve been missing till it appears fresh off the oven for you? My feelings exactly, with this gorgeous apple cake. Of course, this also marks my changing tastes! Yay for blogging and constantly discovering something new to eat, every day! I used my recipe for an upside down pineapple cake which is notorious for being so simple that I’m in real danger of making this cake every day for the rest of my life. Morever, this cake was gone in a matter of minutes. Before I could have a chance to take some proper photographs to share with you. However, I managed to sneak a piece that accompanied my current squeeze  (as you’ll see in the picture later) while I listened to Cafe de Paris on the iTunes radio. That’s contentment, if I’ve ever known it.

P.S – This cake is best had warm from the oven with cold Creme Anglaise or salted butter caramel. Also, I’ve listed the recipe by weight because converting it to cups is just going to be confusing.

Upside Down Apple Cake with Grand Marnier

Source: Inspired by this cake, original recipe from Nigella Lawson’s Nigella Express

Serves: 4 – 6

100 g flour

100 g sugar + 2 tbs grain sugar

100 g butter + 2 tbs for buttering

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp ginger powder (optional)

1/4 tsp cinnamon powder

2 eggs

4 tbs apple juice

1 tsp  vanilla extract

2 – 4 tbs Grand Marnier

1 medium apple, cut into thin slices

1. Pre-heat the oven to 175 deg C/350 deg F. Using an 8″ nonstick tin, butter the base and sprinkle up to 2 tablespoons of grain sugar evenly.

2. Arrange the apple slices in a pattern, ensuring they stick.

3. In the bowl of a food processor, add all the ingredients for the cake at once.  Whiz to combine. Pour over apple slices. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes and eat warm!

Image

photo (1)

Leave a Reply

