Grown-up Chocolate Pound Cake

I’m not a planner whatsoever. I can’t make lists, I find the idea of task organizer apps tedious and I never get any sort of pleasure from checking things off a list. In fact, my little notebook that I carry around everywhere is mostly full of arbitrary recipe ideas and scribbles. Having said that, once I make up my mind to make a certain thing, I’m on a schedule. I organize to have all my ingredients in place, my tins out etc. Today, I had decided to make macarons as part of a challenge (more on that later). I quickly jotted down what I needed and ran off the supermarket. Big surprise? They were out of almond flour! I sulked all the way to the bakery aisle hoping for some yeast so I could possibly make a babka that I’ve been craving. They were out of that too! Finally, not quitting, I went to dairy aisle to look for some Mascarpone. Out again!

I went home and decided the only thing I needed was cake. I also recently acquired some Kahlua (thanks dad!) and decided that had to go too. This cake is the result of yoghurt, Kahlua and really, really good chocolate. The moistness is incomparable because it has the power of yoghurt and buttermilk (milk + lemon juice/vinegar) and somehow, texture wise, is a perfect companion for the incredibly rich chocolate flavor. I’ve taken to using Cadbury’s Cocoa powder. I have always been loyal to Hintz Dutch Process Cocoa Powder but while Cadbury’s color is mild, there is a surprising amount of depth in flavor. I’m a fan! Anyway, enough waffle. Now cake!

P.S – Needless to say, you can always leave out the Kahlua or swap it for something equally fancy like Bailey’s. If you’re adding Grand Marnier or Kirsch, I’d add just a few tablespoons and not the quantity specified below.

Grown-up Chocolate Pound Cake

Adapted from: Tutti Dolci

Serves: A very hungry pack of 4

1 1/4 cups (150g) flour

1/3rd cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 cup (56g) butter, softened

1 cup (200g) sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup plain yoghurt

3/4 cup buttermilk (3/4 cup milk + 1/2 tbs lemon juice or vinegar)

2 tbs chocolate chips (toss it in some cocoa powder because batter is quite thin)

1/3rd cup Kahlua

1. Pre-heat the oven to 175 deg C/350 deg F. Butter and flour a cake tin and set aside. I’ve read recently that if you add the cake tin on a baking tray lined with a cookie mat, it bakes better. It’s helped me so far!

2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, add butter and sugar and cream till pale and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla extract.

3. In a small bowl, add flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and baking soda. Whisk to combine. Also combine together the yoghurt and buttermilk.

4. In up to 3 alternate additions, beginning and ending with the flour, add flour mixture and yoghurt mixture to the butter. Whisk in the Kahlua and pour into cake tin.

5. In a small bowl add 1 tbs cocoa powder to some chocolate chips. Toss to coat. Sprinkle over the cake and bake for 40 – 55 minutes until cake tests done. Dust with some additional cocoa powder, if needed and serve!

P.S – I’m trying to take pictures with the DSLR again versus just my iPhone (except the first shot). Any suggestions are welcome! I’ve been reading up on some great photography tutorials. What do you think?

photo 1

photo 2

photo 3

piclab

2 responses to “Grown-up Chocolate Pound Cake

  1. Pingback: Festive Season Roundup: Homemade Gifts! | The Vanilla Bean·

  2. Pingback: It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas! | The Vanilla Bean·

Leave a Reply

