Cookies n Creme Cupcakes

I sincerely believe that one cannot have too many cupcake recipes in their repertoire. These cupcakes have been on my ‘to-try’ list for a very long time but between work and other things, there has never been enough time to try them. Thankfully, I had an empty kitchen and 2 blocks of cream cheese waiting for me. I took that as a sign!

The method was slightly unfamiliar in the sense that it required 3 egg whites — I’ve used whole eggs and even just yolks in cupcake recipes before but whites I had never heard of. I obviously realized that the cupcakes would be on dry side. After adding the Oreos, I realized that was probably a good thing because I used whole Oreos (instead of removing the cream filling) and the cookies didn’t sink to the bottom had the batter been less dry — that’s my assumption anyway.

I conjured the frosting on my own without following any recipe and I had to keep the leftover frosting on the top most shelf in the fridge so I wouldn’t be tempted to eat it. I wanted something other than traditional cream cheese frosting that I use for Red Velvet cupcakes. I wanted airy and light frosting to accompany the dense cake. And this, people, was the answer. I also wanted to top them with half Oreo cookies and wanted to get a neat cut. The trick? Freezing them for at least an hour before you frost them! Try soon! You wont be sorry.

Cookies n Creme Cupcakes

Yields: 32 cupcakes (original recipe said 24)

Source: Annie’s Eats

For the cupcakes:

2 1/4 cups (270g) flour, sifted

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup (113g) butter

1 2/3rd cups (333g) caster sugar

3 egg whites

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup milk

8 – 10 chopped Oreo cookies

1. Pre-heat the oven to 175 deg C. Line 2 cupcake trays with liners and set aside.

2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter and sugar together till pale and fluffy. Add the egg whites and beat again till combined.

3. Whisk together the flour and baking powder in a separate bowl and add 1/2 the flour into the batter. Add the milk and beat again to combine. Finally add the remaining dry ingredients and fold gently into the batter. Do NOT overmix.

4. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes till skewer inserted comes out clean. Cool completely before frosting.

Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting

Yields: Enough to ice 32 cupcakes + some leftover

Source: Vanilla Bean original

200 ml cream, cold

8 oz cream cheese

10 tbs icing sugar

16 – 20 Oreo cookies, frozen

1. In the bowl of a stand mixer with the whisk attachment fitted, beat the cream till stiff peaks form. Set aside.

2. In the same bowl, add the block of cream cheese and add 10 tbs of icing sugar and beat till combined. Add whipped cream and fold gently with a spatula without deflating it. Add more icing sugar, if required. I felt this was an adequate amount but you can add more if you like.

3. Remove frozen Oreo cookies and cut in half. Top frosted cupcakes with this and eat immediately!

Image

Perfect!

Perfect!

Leave a Reply

