Creamy Cauliflower Soup

    I’m constantly surprised by how diverse my flavor profile is becoming. I’ve bake apple pie on a regular basis, I’ve included homemade fruit yogurt parfaits in my diet, I also eat oatmeal cookies and this lemony pineapple cake is my all-time favorite. For someone whose steady diet pretty much included and limited to chocolate everything, this is quite a turn around. 

    One thing that has been constant is my love for soup. I love soup and stews but owing to the weather here, its not always on the dinner menu. One such evening, I was thumbing through Annie’s Eats as per usual, I saw this and I realized the weather was perfect – rainy!
    The soup is pretty simple to make – if you like you can use good quality stock cubes and add to the cauliflower mixture but I prefer doing things the homemade way. I basically added vegetable scraps and whole vegetables, some herbs and spices and a lot of water. I let it simmer down a little on very low flame for a few hours and after straining, I had my very own vegetable stock! There are no instructions per se but do have a look at this link for any clarifications:
    Creamy Cauliflower Soup
    Serves: 3 very hungry people, 4 small portions if you’re lucky
    1/2 head cauliflower, separated into small florets
    2 tbs butter
    2 small onions, minced
    1 medium potato, peeled and quartered
    2 – 4 garlic cloves, minced
    2/3rd cup cheddar cheese, grated
    Salt and pepper to taste
    3 1/2 – 4 cups of vegetable stock
    A dash of mustard (optional – I didn’t add because I’m not a fan plus we ran out of it but I’ll admit it would have heightened the flavor a great deal)
    Spring Onion Greens, to garnish (optional)
  1. Prepare the vegetable stock and set aside.
  2. Add butter to a stockpot and melt over medium-high heat. Add onions and stir to combine till softened – about 5 – 7 minutes. Add garlic, potato pieces and the vegetable broth. Cover and let it cook till potatoes are cooked through.
  3. Next, add the cauliflower florets and stir to combine. Lower the heat and cover till cauliflower is cooked. Stir in the cheese and mustard if using.
  4. Blend the soup once its sufficiently cool using an immersion blender and serve hot with garnish and croutons!
Leave a Reply

