Guacamole Grilled Cheese

I’m trying, really really trying to keep up with my beloved blog. Things just keep getting in the way! There have been plenty of workshops that have me meeting so many wonderful people who are so full of questions (the best kind of people are!) and even more orders for delivery. The festive season is coming up and its keeping me on my toes and knee-deep in flour. But just know that I miss my blog every time I’m rolling out cookie dough, whisking up cake batter or prettying up sugar cookies with some royal icing (Whee! Finally!).
Just today, I had 10 minutes to spare and I decided to walk down (such pleasant weather here these days!) and get an avocado to make Guacamole Grilled Cheese. See, pre-bedtime reading ritual has sadly become a browse-through-my-daily-blogs kinda thing and I saw this recipe on Two Peas & their Pod and I was absolutely determined to make it. While I have lived most of my life oblivious to avocado, I was a teeny bit nervous about making guacamole. How can you make something you’ve never tasted before?! So please, go make this now and eat it and tell me how you liked it, guac snobs!
Guacamole Grilled Cheese
Serves: 1 with some leftovers!
For Guacamole
1 ripe avocado
1 medium tomato
1/2 red onion
2 cloves of garlic
2 – 3 tsp jalapenos (I used them from a jar)
2 tbsp coriander
1 whole green chilli
1 lemon, halved
Salt and pepper, to taste
For sandwich
2 bread slices
1 slice of cheese (I used Lite cheddar cheese slice)
    1. Run a knife through the centre of the avocado till you hit the seed and go around the circumference. Twist and pull apart the avocado halves. Peel off the skin, and if your avocado is ripe it should come apart easily, and scoop out the flesh into a bowl.
    2. Dice the tomatoes, garlic, onion, chilli and coriander. Using the back of a spoon, mash all of them into the avocado. Squeeze lemon juice into guacamole, add salt and pepper to taste and refrigerate if not using right away.
    3. To prepare the sandwich, spread one slice of bread with guacamole and lay a slice of cheese on the other. Grill till the cheese has melted and serve right away!
This time it was a vegetarian meal but I definitely intend to meat it up later. Oh the options are endless – chicken ham, chicken breast, mortadella etc!
One response to “Guacamole Grilled Cheese

  1. Pingback: Dinner Basics: Guacamole! | The Vanilla Bean·

Leave a Reply

