Apology Cookies

    This has been an exceptionally tough week for me. My hard drive crashed and I was without a laptop for nearly a week (I thought I was going to lose all my data), one of my workshops I was looking forward to got cancelled, I was unwell for the longest time and moreover, my best friend and her family suffered a tremendous loss last week. As you can tell, all that really hasn’t put me in the mood for sweating it out in the kitchen. And contrary to what people think, I hate to bake or cook when I’m upset. I can never concentrate which leads to something or the other to mess up and that doesn’t make me any happier.
    However, the tough week has passed and there’s been some sunshine. This week is looking less dark (although not literally! It’s been raining non-stop for the past 2 days!) and it had me reaching for the butter and sugar again. One of the first things I was craving this morning were cookies. I’m generally more of a cake person but I do suffer cookie phases occasionally. These salted espresso oat and chocolate cookies seemed to cover all the bases – Coffee? Check. Fleur de Sel & Dark Chocolate combo? Check. Oaty-caramelly-goodness? Check! I hope they double as apology cookies for all the silence on the blog lately. Hopefully, things will get better as my favorite time of the year approaches and I’ll be within 2 feet of my oven at all times!
    These cookies are perfect for a rainy day project – they don’t really require a standmixer or any kind of electric mixing actually. If you leave the butter out well in time (which I somehow can never do but did this time), all they need is a sturdy wooden spoon and a spatula (bright color is totally optional but highly recommended!). I adjusted the brown sugar and caster sugar quantities, as I normally do to achieve a less-chewy-but-perfectly-crispy texture. I’ve given the original recipe here but in case you do decide to mix it up – add 300g (1 1/2 cups) of caster sugar and 100g (1/2 cup) of brown sugar. Also, this makes a lot of dough. I’ve baked 8 so far and I’m freezing the rest. I’ll update the post as I do to see how they turn out. Stay tuned!
    Salted Espresso Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
    Yields: 2 dozen (easily)
    1 1/2 cups (180g) flour, sifted
    3 cups Instant Oats
    2 tsp espresso powder
    1/2 tsp baking powder
    1 cup (175g) chocolate chips
    1 cup (227g) butter, at room temperature
    1 cup (200g) caster sugar
    1 cup (200g) brown sugar
    2 eggs, at room temperature
    1 tsp vanilla essence
    Fleur de sel, for sprinkling (optional)
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 350 deg F/175 deg C. Line a cookie tray with a silicon mat or parchment paper.
  2. In a medium bowl, add the dry ingredients like flour, oats, espresso powder and baking powder.
  3. In another bowl (or the bowl of a stand mixer), beat the butter and sugars together till light and fluffy. Add the eggs and essence and mix till combined.
  4. Use a firm spatula to fold in the dry ingredients and using a well oiled ice-cream scooper or your hands, drop/roll the cookies into golf sized balls onto the cookie tray and bake for 15 – 20 minutes or until golden brown from the edges.
Leave a Reply

