Speedy One Bowl Chocolate Cake

    How do I know if a recipe is truly “quick?” I have a complex system – I generally pre-heat my oven for 20 minutes as soon as I enter the kitchen with the intention to bake something. Till then, I weigh out my ingredients, remove bowls etc. If, from start to finish, my cake takes just about the time it takes for my oven to pre-heat – I know then that its truly speedy. And its one bowl.
    I don’t know about you guys but for me the very words ‘speedy one bowl chocolate cake’ spell doom. If its within reach and minimum washing up – chances are ill end up making it before you can say chocolate. See? Doom! But for those who enjoy eating an entire cake a sliver now and then are vexed by the very thought of baking? It’s a handy one for you. Although I wouldn’t necessarily limit this recipe to just them. Kick back and make something that doesn’t involve torting once in a while.
    So, the method *spoiler alert* is given away in the title itself – nothing too fussy about this one. Melt butter and chocolate, add 5 eggs for a rich brownie like cake and without stopping to lick the bowl, add ground almonds, flour and brown sugar for an intensely fudgy chocolate cake that, I’m pretty sure, can save lives. Oh, I also broke out my jar of fleur de sel and sprinkled some on – a sure sign that I’ve been watching too much Rachel Khoo lately.
    Speedy One Bowl Chocolate Cake
    Serves: 1  4
    1 cup (120g) almonds/almond meal
    125g butter
    375g dark chocolate chips (or a bar – coarsely chopped)
    1 cup(175g) brown sugar
    1/4th cup (35g) plain flour, sifted
    2 tbs milk
    5 eggs
    Cocoa powder or Fleur de Sel for garnish (optional)
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 1750c (3250F).
  2. Melt the chocolate and butter in the microwave, till smooth and melted.
  3. Add the sugar, flour, almonds and milk and mix to combine. Add the eggs and whisk again.
  4. Add fleur de sel if you wish and pour batter into springform tin and bake for 40 minutes or until cake tests done. Dust with cocoa powder/icing sugar and serve!
One response to “Speedy One Bowl Chocolate Cake

  1. Pingback: Mother’s Day | The Vanilla Bean·

Leave a Reply

