Earl Grey Lemon Tea Cupcakes with Honey Glaze

    I think there comes a time in every bakers life when they surpass their own expectations in the kitchen. Case in point being, these cupcakes. I had no doubt about their flavor profile but it was just one of those days where everything was going wrong – I didn’t realize I was out of flour till the last minute and 3 stores weren’t carrying chamomile tea (as part of the original recipe). Oh well, I decided to improvise and work with what I had – which wasn’t so bad because I happen to love Earl Grey tea – and add some citrus zest to perk things up. Citrus zest always helps. I had a tiny lime (the very last one, as luck would have it) in the refrigerator and grated some zest a top the tea and flour.
    I don’t know if it was the zest, the tea or what but these are the most fragrant cupcakes I’ve ever made! I had to hold back from licking the batter because Joy warns that they make just enough. They definitely surpassed my expectations – even now I get the jitters while differing from a recipe but wow. I must make sure I take chances more often. Bucket list, check.
    P.S – I’m experimenting with taking pictures via Instagram only. Another super recommendation by Joy:
    When it comes to photography there’s something you should know: find a camera that you’re comfortable with. You don’t need the biggest, baddest camera and lens to create a beautiful blog space.  Know what I love to shoot with?  My iPhone.”
    I know. We love her.
      
    Earl Grey Lemon Tea Cupcakes
    Adapted from: Joythebaker
    Yields: 12 even sized cupcakes + 1 small cupcake
    For the cupcakes:
    1/4 cup (56 g) butter, softened
    1 cup (120 g) flour
    3/4 cup (150 g) caster sugar
    1 tsp baking powder
    1/2 tsp baking soda
    3 tbs Earl Grey tea (about 9 tea bags)
    1 cup (240 ml) milk, at room temperature
    1 egg, at room temperature
    1 tsp vanilla extract
    For the honey glaze:
    1 1/2 cups icing sugar
    1 tbs honey
    5 tbs double cream (I used Amul Fresh Cream straight from the refrigerator)
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 175 deg C and line a cupcake tray with liners.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter, sugar, flour, baking soda, baking powder, tea leaves and zest with your fingers to help the zest release the fragrance – about 2 minutes. Then, use a hand mixer (or a stand mixer – although you don’t need any vigorous beating) for a few minutes till the mixture is sandy and damp.
  3. In a measuring jug, add the milk, egg and vanilla extract. Whisk quickly with a fork and add to the dry ingredients. Using a wooden spoon, mix lightly till everything is combined.
  4. Pour about 3/4th of the way into cupcake liners and bake for 15 – 20 minutes till cupcakes test done.
  5. For the glaze, add all the ingredients in the bowl and use a whisk to combine till smooth and slightly runny. Spoon a top cooled cupcakes and garnish with tea leaves if you like. 


2 responses to “Earl Grey Lemon Tea Cupcakes with Honey Glaze

  1. Wow !!!

    I’m so inspired by your recipe here.
    This is top of the baking list for the weekend for me…..

    Happy to drop by…..and i’m sure will keep coming back !!

    Cheers

    Gauri.

    • Gauri,

      Thank you! These cupcakes have a permanent place in the dessert rotation here.

      And thank you the inspiration too.

      P.S – Love the latest soup post. I’m a soup girl at heart.

Leave a Reply

