Weekend Roundup & Thumbprint Cookies

    I love my city but this heat is terrible – I’ve only had summer-cooler things on my mind. I’ll clarify that with the upcoming week’s bookmarked recipes – it’s Mediterranean all over this week!
    It may seem morbid after last week’s choice but I’m completely hooked onto psychology themed books. P.S – The Happiness Project was amazing – I read it cover to cover and I have a feeling I’m going to be re-reading it again soon.
    What I’m Baking: Honey Chamomile Cupcakes from Joythebaker
    I love this blog. I’ve been dying to try these cupcakes and these will go perfectly with a Mediterranean themed week I think!
    Its my first Woody Allen movie and people tell me this is the movie to begin with.
    Bookmarked for the week:
    Layered Mediterranean Dip from Annie’s Eats
    Mediterranean Chicken Burgers from Ellysaysopa
    Homemade Ranch Dressing from Joythebaker
    Now onto business:
Chocolate Thumprint Cookies
Yields: Approximately 15 – 20 even sized cookies
    150g/1 1/4 cups flour
    113g/8 tbs butter
    133g/ 1/2 cup caster sugar
    1 tsp vanilla essence
    For Chocolate filling:
    50g chocolate buttons, chips or bar, chopped up
    2 tbs butter
    3/4 tsp corn syrup
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 175 deg C and line a cookie tray (do not grease it) with parchment paper.
  2. In a bowl of a stand mixer with the paddle attachment fitted, cream butter, sugar and vanilla essence until pale and fluffy.
  3. Add the flour and mix on low speed to combine till the dough comes together and leaves the sides of the bowl.
  4. Bake for 10 minutes. Meanwhile, add the ingredients for the chocolate filling in a heat proof bowl and melt in the microwave in 10 second bursts till the mixture is smooth and completely melted.
  5. After 10 minutes, remove the cookies from the oven and using the back of a small spoon, make an indentation. Fill all of the cookies with chocolate filling and return the cookie tray back to the oven for another 10 minutes or until golden brown from the edges. 
UPDATE (1st June 2012): I made these again – I baked them till they were almost done – about 12 to 15 minutes and then went on to make the indention and spoon the chocolate filling. Then,  I returned them to the oven for another 5 – 7 minutes. This way, the chocolate didn’t burn!


Leave a Reply

