Pink Fairy Coconut Kisses

    Do you guys ever go through a serious cookie phase? I don’t go through a cookie phase too often. Of course, I have these cookies permanently stored but this is like a never ending love affair rather than a phase. I’m talking about a can’t-think-of-anything-else-for-now-except-these-awesome-cookies-I-want-more-and-more-till-I’m-stuffed kinda phase. I had that for a while with these cookies. The legend behind them being, these were the first thing I ever learnt how to bake. Ever. I’m not even sure how I still remember the recipe, given that back then I didn’t have a digital kitchen scale etc so I was petrified of how they’d turn out. You see, kitchen superstitions aren’t a myth. I could easily make a meringue-esque cookie before I read baking books with a voracious appetite. I could easily fold in the coconut without thinking of whether I’m folding it correctly or not or if my cookies would become to chewy because of it. Now, after all that information in my head, I was terrified. But as luck would have it, they turned out perfectly well. I forgot to grease the baking parchment for one batch so they stuck to the parchment and pulling them apart didn’t help. However I greased the second batch of cookies and they are the ones we are going with.
    Pink Fairy Coconut Kisses
    Yields: 8 – 10 even sized cookies
    2 cups of desiccated coconut (do not use any other kind – the cookies wont hold up)
    2/3rd cup caster sugar
    1 – 2 tsp red food coloring (depends on how strong your coloring is – it should be pink)
    2 egg whites, at room temperature
    1 – 2 tsp vanilla essence (I put 2 tsp)
    1 tbs cornflour
    A pinch of salt
    Almonds, to garnish (optional)
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 175 deg C and grease and line a cookie tray with parchment paper.
  2. In a spotlessly clean bowl, add the egg whites and salt on high speed, beat till stiff peaks form.
  3. Add the sugar and beat again on high speed till combined and mixture is thick and glossy.
  4. Add the cornflour, vanilla essence and food coloring all at once. Beat till combined.
  5. Lastly, add the coconut and fold gently, without deflating the egg whites.
  6. Drop onto greased cookie sheets with a teaspoon and  bake for 10 – 12 minutes till golden brown on the edges. Be vigilant, as they can burn easily. 


Leave a Reply

