Oat and Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Seeing a remotely healthy cookie might be a rarity here on Vanilla Bean but my heart is in the right place. I promise. While these cookies may not excite you on their own there is a generous sprinkling of chocolate chips and cinnamon that will make the toughest cookie critic melt (in my house that would be me).  You see, oat cookies have been on my to bake list for the longest time now but the only thing that was some sort of deterrent was the lack of cocoa. I had made them in Pastry School once and I remembered that I did enjoy them so I decided to cross one more off the list. And thank god for that. This, people, is the answer to the late night munchies (among other types of munchies too). They’re pretty hard to ignore because they a phenomenal combination of oats, cinnamon and chocolate.



     I’d urge you to use really good quality dark chocolate because it heightens the flavor (of course the oats help mask this as something healthy and that doesn’t subtract from the flavor either). After a recent kitchen disaster (I don’t think I’m cut out for bread making, by the way), these cookies lifted my mood right up.  In fact, every now and then I find myself sneaking a bite or two of these cookies. Yes, they are that good.
    The recipe is from The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook and the only change I made was to reduce the quantity of brown sugar because I like my cookies less chewy and more crunchy and added a generous sprinkle of dark chocolate chips that I picked up on a trip to Dubai. You could use some fine dark chocolate and chop it into chunks too.
    Oat & Chocolate Chip Cookies
    Yields: 18 –  20 even sized cookies
    270g/1 cup plus 3 tbs butter, at room temperature
    260g/1 cup plus 4 tbs caster sugar
    60g / 1/4th cup plus 2 tsp soft brown sugar
    2 eggs, at room temperature
    1/4 tsp vanilla extract
    1 tsp baking soda
    380g/3 cups plus  plain flour
    1/2 tsp ground cinnamon (don’t increase the quantity – the delicate balance of flavors is what really makes this cookie a little piece of heaven)
    110g rolled oats (I used Quaker Instant Oats)
    100 – 150g fine dark chocolate (chips or chunks)
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 1700c and line 2 cookie trays with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda and cinnamon. Add the oats to this mixture and stir to combine.
  3. In a bowl of a stand mixer (hand held works too!) fitted with the paddle attachment, beat together the butter and sugars till light and fluffy on medium speed.
  4. Add the eggs, one at a time beating thoroughly in between to combine. Scrape the batter from the sides of the bowl and mix in the vanilla extract. Add the dry ingredients and beat on medium speed till combined. Turn off the mixer and fold in the chocolate chips lightly with a spatula.
  5. Use a ice cream scooper, scoop out the dough and release onto the trays spacing them a few inches apart and bake for about 12 – 15 minutes or until golden brown and firm. Remove and let them cool slightly before switching them to a wire rack to cool completely.

2 responses to “Oat and Chocolate Chip Cookies

    • Hi!

      Yes there are a few but not too many since I believe eggs are vital to baking. The eggless recipes featured are naturally egg-free and I haven’t altered them in any way to do so. You can look for world peace cookies, oats and yogurt parfait, ice-cream torte, Nutella cheesecake etc.

      Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

