World Peace, Cookies, Christmas and Gratitude


I could never oppose the idea of world peace through cookies. Double chocolate nonetheless. These have been calling out to me ever since I bought Dorie Greenspan’s book. When I finally got down to trying them, I did feel a surge of regret for not trying them earlier but it was hard to feel anything with these sublime cookies. If you decide to bake these for some dinner party, do it just before guests are to walk in because I can’t tell you just how good they make the house smell. You could toss out the scented candles. These are my Christmas wishes granted. 


They’re pretty easy to make and they allow for you to do tons of things in between while they’re chilling in the refrigerator so they’re perfect for both – a lazy day or a fast paced one. The only issue I faced with them was their crumbly texture. Somehow, my logs just didn’t set. Maybe it was just me (you should definitely try them and hit the comments below). That didn’t stop me from making them – I rolled them into little mounds and just before baking, flattened them slightly. It took slightly longer to bake them but that’s pretty normal because everyone’s oven is different so time can vary. It took me about 18 to 20 minutes per batch (as opposed to the prescribed12) but I was vigilant after 10 minutes. See, they aren’t going to turn golden brown around the edges so use a cake tester/skewer and prod them after 10 minutes to see if they’re dry. I also switched the quantities of brown sugar with caster sugar because I like my cookies crunchy. If you’ve been facing this problem with american cookie recipes then try switching the amounts of brown with white sugar and see what a tremendous difference it makes! 

Other than that, happy holidays to you guys! I hope all of you have a very merry Christmas indeed!

World Peace Cookies
Yields: Approximately 20 – 22 bite size cookies

1 1/4 cups (175 grams) all-purpose flour
1/3 cup (30 grams) unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
11 tablespoons (or 150 grams) unsalted butter, at room temperature
2/3 cup (120 grams) caster sugar
1/4 cup (50 grams) lightly packed brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon fleur de sel or 1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt (I used 1/8th tsp since my butter was salted)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
5 ounces (150 grams) bittersweet chocolate, chopped into chips or 3/4 cup mini chocolate chips (but don’t be afraid to add some more)

1. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa powder and baking soda. Whisking will allow the dry ingredients to mix evenly without nasty remnants here and there. 
2. In a large bowl or that of your stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugars for about 2 – 3 minutes on medium speed till the mixture is light and fluffy. Add the vanilla extract and salt and mix again for a few seconds till combined. 
3. Add the flour mixture and mix on low speed till combined. The mixture will be crumbly so don’t panic. 
4. Roll out a large sheet of parchment paper and spoon the mixture onto the sheet. Press down gently, roll up both sides of the parchment and twist the sides to cover the cookie mixture to make it look like a giant candy wrapper. Refrigerate for 3 hours or more until firm. At this point, the cookie logs can be frozen for up to 2 months.
5. Once you are ready to bake, pre-heat the oven to 325°F/162°C, line a cookie tray with parchment paper and remove the logs from the refrigerator. If the mixture is crumbly, roll the cookie mixture into little mounds, approximately the size of truffles. If your mixture is firm, then cut slices and place on ready cookie tray. Bake for approximately 12 – 18 minutes till cookies are dry around the edges. Let it cool to room temperature before removing. Cool on a wire rack and eat ’em up.  

*As a side note, I listened to Joythebaker and her awesome advice on taking pictures with whatever camera you may be comfortable with for better pictures. So, bear with me while I test my camera-ish skills and send a hug to Joythebaker for me, will you?*





2 responses to “World Peace, Cookies, Christmas and Gratitude

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Almond Wafer Cookies | The Vanilla Bean·

  2. Pingback: Lemon Vanilla Cake with White Chocolate | The Vanilla Bean·

Leave a Reply

