Shamefully Easy Yogurt Cream Sauce

Happy Halloween!
Now I’m not big on Halloween but do I have a treat for you! While the rest of them are busy with ghouls and haunted houses, you can tuck in and eat this spooned over some blueberries – or any fruit actually, it’s a pretty versatile sauce. I’m also glad to be finally cooking something from The  Pioneer Woman’s blog. I’ve been bookmarking her recipes for eons and I could kick myself for not starting earlier! 



She suggests eating them with blueberries, which I was lucky to find at Nature’s Basket. Since they were pretty expensive and a rare find here, I was looking to make something that steal the flavor – I wanted to keep them raw and pure and this recipe was perfect!
It’s also really, really easy to make and makes for a fantastic dessert after a heavy meal. You can make it a few hours ahead and give it a quick whisk before serving. The Pioneer Woman made this with plain yogurt but I’m completely obsessed with Danone Vanilla Yogurt these days so I just used that. If you think that maybe too sweet for you, then reduce the sugar and keep tasting it before adding more.
    Yogurt Cream Sauce
    Yields: Generous serving for 4 – 6
    4 small cups Danone Vanilla Yogurt, approximately 1 1/2 cups
    1 1/4 cups heavy cream
    100g lightly packed brown sugar
  1. In a large bowl, add the yogurt and then the cream. Whisk till evenly combined.
  2. Sprinkle the brown sugar over the yogurt cream mixture but do not stir it in. Let the sugar sit atop the yogurt cream for it to form a caramel-ly layer. Refrigerate for at least 3 hours before serving.
  3. Just before serving, whisk together the sugar and yogurt cream till its combined. Spoon over fruit of your choice and if you like, you can layer it like I did.
  4. Oh and incase you are doing some Halloween baking, here’s a roundup from some of my favorite blogs:
Leave a Reply

