Shamefully Easy Chocolate Chip Scones

Honestly? Never had a scone before in my life – till a few months ago. They just didn’t appeal to me as a kid (nothing did till it wasn’t swimming in chocolate) and when I moved here, scones weren’t too freely available and the ones that I had seen didn’t look too appetizing. I decided to bake them not too long ago when I was looking for something eggless (that’s the ONLY drawback to the festive season!) and when I took my first bite, I kicked myself for not trying them earlier. They were amazing! I bake them so often now and I do apologize for holding out on you guys. Hopefully, once you make them, all will be forgiven.
This definitely qualifies for shamefully easy – minimum effort, sturdy recipe, minimum washing up. They’re made with buttermilk and I’ve included the recipe for it (milk + 1 tablespoon of lemon juice or white distilled vinegar).
DSC_0005
 
CHOCOLATE CHIP SCONES
Yields: Approximately 18 small scones
Source: Joyofbaking
240g all purpose flour
50g caster sugar
1 1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
113g butter, cold and diced
160ml to 180 milk
1 tbs lemon juice
1 tsp vanilla extract
100g chocolate chips or chocolate bar of your choice, cut up into chunks
5 – 6 tbs milk, for brushing

 

  • Pre-heat the oven to 200oC. Line a cookie tray with parchment paper.

 

 

  • In a measuring jug, pour 180 ml of milk and add to it, a tablespoon of lemon juice. Let it sit for about 10 minutes.

 

 

  • In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda and baking powder.

 

 

  • Add the butter cubes and either using a pastry blender or your fingers, rub the butter into the dough till it resembles oat flakes or roughly, the size of peas. Add till the butter is completely blended in.

 

 

  • Add the buttermilk mixture slowly, in a steady stream but add little by little – enough so the dough comes together. You may not even use of all it (I didn’t). I added a few tablespoons, mixed it in and then added a few more. Do not overmix.

 

 

  • After adding the buttermilk, turn the dough onto a well dusted work surface and knead very lightly for 2 minutes. Do not over knead.

 

 

  • Flatten slightly into a disk shape of 7″ and use fluted cookie cutters or simply cut out triangular wedges. Brush lightly with milk and bake for 20 minutes till golden brown on the edges
Photo update: 27th Jan 2014
Leave a Reply

