I dont have a speech prepared..

There is a pivotal scene in the movie Julie & Julia, where Julie is lying on the floor and weeping tears of frustration and every single time I think of my experience at Patisserie School, I can’t help but think of this scene with a big smile on my face. It’s a mixed feeling, graduating from what had become a big part of my life these past months. There were weeping-on-the-floor moments and there were ones where a victory song played in my head every time I took a bite of something I made that I was exceptionally proud of. The journey, nonetheless, has been so very giving with lots of eye opening kitchen epiphanies! I do want to extend a big hug to all you lovely people who stood by this rather silent time on Vanilla Bean.
Moving along, its time for my book club recipe, to which I owe a ton of catching up! This month’s read was a chick-lit book-by-the-beach read, literally! The Beach Café is about Evie Flynn and her trysts with running a café, something she never thought she knew how to do. Eventually, she emerges as the underdog (surprise, surprise) and manages to win everyone over (oops, spoiler alert!). Even though the recipe for this book is so old, its still a good read. I secretly cheered for Evie the underdog, well because, I understood the feeling. And I present to you, exactly what I had been munching on while reading this book – Chocolate Chip Cookies! I do already have a chocolate chip cookie recipe, but to it I say, move over because this cookie is the ultimate! Its thick, chewy in the right places and crisp in the right places and its loaded with chocolate chips so that’s enough of an argument.
Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted from: Nigella Lawson’s Kitchen
Yields: Approximately 20 (the book says 14 but I think my ice-cream scooper was smaller)
300g all purpose flour
150g butter, melted
125g caster sugar
100g brown sugar
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 egg, cold from the fridge
1 egg yolk, cold from the fridge
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 whole bag of Chocolate Chips (approx 354g) or an equal amount of good quality chocolate, chopped up
    1. Pre-heat the oven to 170oC and grease and line a cookie tray with parchment paper.
    1. Melt the butter in the microwave in 20 second bursts and set aside to cool down. In a large mixing bowl, add together the sugars and whisk to mix. Add the cooled butter to the sugars and set aside.
    1. To the butter mixture, add the egg, the yolk and the extract. Beat together till the mixture is light and creamy.
    1. Add the flour and soda and about half way through, fold in the chocolate chips till there are no streaks of flour.
    1. Scoop into a well oiled ice-cream scoop and release onto the baking sheet, leaving a little space in between. While one batch is baking, keep the remaining dough in the refrigerator.
    1. Bake for 15 to 17 minutes till the edges are lightly toasted. Cool onto wire rack and transfer to an airtight container for storage. They harden as they cool so leave them out as long as possible. They keep for 5 days in an airtight container at room temperature.

 

Photo credit: Riya Vatnani
DSC_0063
photo (1)

Photo update: 26th September 2013
 
Leave a Reply

