Shamefully Easy Series II: Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

There’s something oddly comforting about cooking from Nigella Lawson’s book – not only because the recipes are converted to express mode which makes life a lot easier or because no matter what you pick from her book, its extremely high on the show-off scale but its definitely because there is a sure shot way of them turning out exactly the way you thought or pictured. This also marks the second entry into my ‘Shamefully Easy Hall of Baking’ and I’m beginning to see a pattern – they’re all from Nigella Lawson’s book and they’re loaded with chocolate chips. So far, I like what I see.
If you do a lot of non-express baking, then you have to simply hang up your oven mitts and apron and just allow a nifty stand mixer to do its work. It uses the classic muffin method and I don’t need to convince you on the flavor marriage of banana and chocolate do I? They are perfect picnic-basket-foods and they also make enormous ones. Of course, these are slightly adapted from her classic ‘Banana & Butterscotch muffins’ but I got the go ahead to make these with chocolate chips.
    Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins
    Yields: 12 – 15 even sized muffins
    Adapted from: Nigella Lawson
    3 ripe bananas
    125ml/ 1/2 cup + 1 tsp vegetable oil
    2 eggs
    250g/ 2 cups flour
    100g/ 1/2 cup caster sugar
    1/2 tsp baking soda
    1 tsp baking powder
    150g/3/4 cup butterscotch/white chocolate/chocolate chips
  1. Pre-heat oven to 200oC and line 2 muffin trays.
  2. Mash bananas well with the help of a potato masher. You could use your judgment here on how chunky you want them to be.  I love a little bit of banana chunks so I just eyeballed it. Set mashed bananas aside.
  3. In a sizeable mixing bowl, add flour, sugar, baking soda and baking powder. Using a fork, mix thoroughly to combine all the dry ingredients. 
  4. In a measuring jug, pour in the oil and add the eggs. Mix to combine. Add this to the mashed bananas and finally, add to dry ingredients. Finally, add in the chocolate chips and mix well to ensure there are no streaks of dry ingredients.
  5. If using an ice-cream scooper, grease the scooper with some oil for easy release. The batter is extremely elastic (for the lack of a better word) so be careful while scooping and release into muffin cups and bake at 200oC for 20 minutes.
  6. That’s all there is to it – I wish there were a few more steps because these muffins are absolutely worth the effort but sometimes simplicity is refreshing, isn’t it? I am totally serving these to impromptu guests next time. 
5 responses to “Shamefully Easy Series II: Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Hi Gayathri,I've edited the recipe to add cup measurements for you. I hope it helps!On a side note, precise measurements really help with baking. They give you consistent results and frankly, fewer disasters. Let me know how the muffins worked out for you 🙂

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Pantry Staples | The Vanilla Bean·

  3. Do u have eggless version of these…I m allergic to eggs, can I use flax meal in place of eggs.

    • Hi Sally,

      I have heard many good things about using ground flax seeds soaked in warm water to replace eggs. I haven’t tried them myself but you can always try it and let us know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

