Nutella.Oreo.Cream Pie

    I have always been intimidated of pie making. After all, it’s the poster child for domesticity. You can just picture it on a wholesome table with a fifties wife in the background, pearls et al. They make it look so effortless! Last year, I took a pie making class and that only confirmed my fear – while the filling is easy it’s the short crust dough that expects no nonsense and lots of gentle treatment. I don’t even want to go into the blind baking and what not. All that aside, I was still aching to try pie making. I just had to cross it off my list before the year ends and starting now meant I had a decent buffer. As luck would have it, I chanced upon the cutest, most helpful blog I have come across off late. Gingerbreadbagels had the best pie recipe in the world – Oreo.Nutella.Cream.Pie! The bonus? It is extremely, extremely easy to make. No short crust, no blind baking, no pastry cream whatsoever. Plus, if anything has Nutella, Oreos and cream cheese, how can it possibly be bad?


    For an updated version of this classic recipe, see here.



    (While Lindsey of Gingerbreadbagels suggests adding only half a block of cream cheese (4 oz) I added the entire block out of sheer tempetation. I also suggest getting authentic whipped cream so the pie can set properly. It is available at Arife & Modern stores in Bandra in 2 litre and 200 gm packs respectively.)
    Oreo-Nutella Cream Pie
    Yields: one gorgeous 9″ pie
    For crust:
    1 packet Oreos
    1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled
    2 tbs caster sugar
    For Nutella Cream filling:
     1/2 cup Nutella
    1 packet Philadelphia Cream Cheese
    3/4 cup icing sugar
    I cup whipped cream (cream whipped on high speed with 3 to 4 tbs of icing sugar)
    1/2 cup milk
  1. Beat whipped cream with sugar till stiff peaks are formed. Set aside.
  2. Add Oreos, sugar and melted butter in a food processor and blitz till you get fine, sandy crumbs. Arrange in a pie plate or serving dish. Ensure you coat the entire dish and not just the base. (I tucked my pie dish in the freezer till I went about the Nutella filling so that the butter base would firmly set. Alternatively, you could just set it aside as Lindsey suggests.)
  3. In a large mixing bowl, add cream cheese and beat with icing sugar with a hand mixer. Add milk and beat again on low speed till combined.  Gently fold in the whipped cream and pour into the pie dish.
  4. Put the now ready pie in the fridge for about 5 to 7 hours and decorate as you please. I added some squiggly lines from leftover Ganache icing.
2 responses to “Nutella.Oreo.Cream Pie

  1. Wheee! This is utterly awesome. I did leave a comment a few days ago on your San Churro post, but guess the internet ate it up. The pie looks lovely. Arife actually stocks FRESH cream? Then that's great news. I absolutely detest using the white vegetable fat that is disguised as whipping cream. 😦 Oh, and those chocolate callets are callebaut 53% – they come in 2.5 kg bags and 5kg blocks.

  2. Aww thank you 🙂 you're the ultimate inspiration (and the first ever to comment, so exciting)! The pie was every bit as good. You HAVE to try it. Arife and Modern both stock fresh cream. They are Rich's only, which in my experience is the best. I get mine from Modern as he breaks it up into 200gm packs, way easier to stock. Thanks for the callebaut tip, will hunt for it 🙂

Leave a Reply

