Skinny Sweet Potato Paprika Chips

Among all the inventions I’m glad for, I’m super glad for my oven. It lets me make a lightened up version of potato chips (and fries – but that’s a story for another day) that aren’t greasy and make my house smell like a backyard BBQ straight out of Better Homes & Gardens. If selfies were the official word for 2013, then I believe detox is about to make a serious comeback – at least for the first half of ’14. These chips will do some justice. You can eat them guilt free – or with lesser guilt than you would with regular chips.

Image

I won’t really press on about why a mandolin slicer is important, especially for this kind of recipe but it’s a handy tool to have around in the kitchen drawer. It gets a lot of my slicing done evenly and if you’re a stickler for that sort of thing – it’ll save you many a measurement incidents. I love using it to slice onions, carrots and the like. It’s also handy for slicing apples to arrange on top my favorite fall cake. It pretties up salads and.. here you thought I wasn’t going to press on. I bought a cheap one from Cheap Jack and later a slightly more expensive one from OXO on a trip abroad. Both work just as well.

Paprika has become my favorite spice to sprinkle over everything lately – marinades, salads, toast and what have you. You can play with the flavors as you like. I also used garlic oil to coat the potato slices but regular oil would work too. You could perhaps try an asian inspired version with peanut oil and wasabi powder or korean chili dressing. Mmm.

Skinny Sweet Potato Paprika Chips 

Serves: A greedy 2

Source: The Vanilla Bean Original

2 medium sweet potatoes, scrubbed clean

1 tsp garlic oil (or any other oil)

Sea salt and pepper, as per taste

1 heaped tsp smoked paprika powder (optional)

1. Pre-heat the oven to 300 deg C. Line your largest baking tray with foil and spray lightly with butter or oil spray. Set aside.

2. In a large bowl, slice the sweet potato slices with the help of a mandolin slicer (set to its thinnest setting) till they are all evenly sliced. In the same bowl, add oil and seasonings of choice and toss to coat. I used my hands for this. You can also season them later, so season lightly first.

3. Arrange on baking tray in an even manner and bake for 10 – 12 minutes on the ‘broiler’ setting of your oven. Be vigilant – the thin, smaller ones burn easily. Remove, let it cool and season again if necessary and serve immediately. Store in an airtight container up to 3 days.

Image

Leave a comment