Eatin’ to the Beat – Banana Cream Pie!

I’m super happy to be participating in my very first blogging event – Eat to the Beat! Elly of ellysaysopa has been organizing this event for a few years and of course, I only recently found out but I couldn’t wait to contribute! If you haven’t seen Elly’s space, hop on over.
The idea of this event is to create something based on/around your favorite song. I’ve been dreaming of this banana-cream-heavenly-concoction forever and Jack Johnson’s Banana Pancakes always seemed to remind me that I needed to come up with something NOW. I don’t really like pancakes so I wanted to create something with the same dreamy flavor but a slightly different texture. I saw the recipe for a Banana Cream Pie on Joyofbaking a while ago and it seemed perfect! While I really don’t like to do my work in stages, this pie – that can be made in stages – seemed to fit right in to the schedule. You can make the shortbread crust and pastry cream a day ahead and just assemble it on the day you intend to serve it. Although, if you were making them both, I don’t know how you could restrain yourself! I didn’t line the sides with the shortbread because I prefer it that way and also because, I was making it in a ready pie dish so I didn’t intend to take it out of that anyway. I went for a shortbread base, topped with some sublime vanilla-rum pastry cream, bananas and fluffy whipped cream. Oh, I also made this caramel to drown the pie with. YUM.
P.S – this doubles as my 22nd birthday cake tomorrow!
    Banana cream pie
    Adapted from: Joyofbaking
    Serves: 4 – 6
    Shortbread base:
    120 g all purpose flour
    35 g icing sugar
    1/8 tsp salt (if using unsalted butter)
    113 g butter, cold from the fridge
    Pastry cream:
    300ml milk
    1 tsp vanilla extract
    1 – 2 tsp dark rum
    3 large egg yolks
    50g caster sugar
    2 tbs all purpose flour
    2 tbs cornstarch (cornflour)
    For assembly:
    2 – 3 large bananas
    1 1/2 cups whipped cream (You can use store bought but I made my own using 1 cup of double cream and beating it on high speed with 2 tablespoons of icing sugar) 
  1. Grease a 9″ pie dish with cooking spray or butter and pre-heat the oven to 425F/220C.
  2. In a large bowl, add flour, salt (if using) and sugar and whisk to combine. Add butter, a chunk at a time, and mix it in with your fingers till the dough starts clumping together. Alternatively, you could use a food processor.
  3. Line the base of your pie dish with the dough, cover with cling wrap and pop it into the freezer for 15 minutes to prevent it from shrinking while it bakes.
  4. For pastry cream:
  5. Combine the egg yolks and sugar together and whisk to combine.
  6. Combine the cornstarch and all-purpose flour. Now, add this to the egg yolk mixture and stir to combine till it resembles a smooth paste.
  7. In a medium sized saucepan, heat the milk on a medium flame till its just about to boil, with slight bubbles around the edges. Take the saucepan off the heat and add the yolk and flour mixture to the milk. Whisk well to ensure there aren’t any lumps.
  8. Put the saucepan back on medium-heat, whisking constantly till it thickens. It took under a minute for it to thicken for me.
  9. Pour into a bowl and using a large piece of cling wrap, press against the surface to prevent a skin forming atop the pastry cream. Set aside till assembly or refrigerate if making a day ahead. Otherwise, once its completely cooled, pour into the pie dish over the pie shell.
  10. To Assemble:
  11. Cut bananas into thin, round discs and arrange over pastry cream. Spread whipped cream on top, ensuring that you cover the bananas as they tend to brown otherwise. Refrigerate till you intend to serve. 
6 responses to “Eatin’ to the Beat – Banana Cream Pie!

Leave a Reply

